Home / Filers / BARROW HANLEY MEWHINNEY & STRAUSS LLC
BARROW HANLEY MEWHINNEY & STRAUSS LLC
institutional manager voting report
- Vote records reported
- 411year to 30 June 2026
- Against management
- 10.6%43 of 406 marked votes
- Say-on-pay support
- 87.7%for, of for + against + abstain
- Shareholder-proposal support
- not reportednot reported by managers
foragainstabstain, withhold or otheramber tick: the portion cast against management
For the year to 30 June 2026, BARROW HANLEY MEWHINNEY & STRAUSS LLC reported 411 vote records on Form N-PX. 43 of the 406 votes that were marked for or against management went against management: 10.6%, 4.2 percentage points above the median institutional manager (6.4%).
Weighted by the number of shares voted, the against-management share is 4.3%. The two figures differ when the votes against management fall on larger or smaller holdings than the rest.
On pay and on shareholder proposals: it voted for 87.7% of the section 14A say-on-pay items it reported (the median institutional manager: 91.4%).
By category, votes against management were most frequent in SECTION 14A SAY-ON-PAY VOTES (10.6% of 406).
It reported 9.6 million shares out on loan at record dates, 2.17% of the shares it held or had lent across the meetings it reported. Shares on loan are not voted.
Compared with other filers
Each rate is defined once, in the methodology. The median is taken over 2,628 institutional managers with at least 25 vote records in the season.
| year to 30 June 2026 | This filer | Median institutional manager | All filers pooled |
|---|---|---|---|
| Against-management share | 10.6% | 6.4% | 10.6% |
| Say-on-pay support rate | 87.7% | 91.4% | 86.0% |
| Shareholder-proposal support rate | not reported | 41.1% | 33.9% |
| Shares on loan, share of shares held | 2.17% | 0.00% | 3.12% |
| Largest families, year to 30 June 2026 | Against management | Say-on-pay support | Shareholder-proposal support |
|---|---|---|---|
| Vanguard | 20.1% | 94.1% | 42.0% |
| BlackRock and iShares | 7.5% | 88.3% | 11.9% |
| Fidelity | 6.0% | 94.7% | 27.6% |
| Dimensional | 16.4% | 78.9% | 57.4% |
| State Street and SPDR | 16.9% | 77.1% | 50.4% |
Votes by category
Filers choose one or more categories for each vote, so a vote can appear in more than one row. Category names are printed as Form N-PX defines them.
| Category (as the form names it) | Votes | For | Against | Against management | Split |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SECTION 14A SAY-ON-PAY VOTES | 416 | 329 | 46 | 10.6% |
By season
| Season | Vote records | Against management | Say-on-pay support | Shareholder-proposal support | Split |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| year to 30 June 2024 | 322 | 10.5% | 88.5% | not reported | |
| year to 30 June 2025 | 316 | 10.2% | 88.8% | not reported | |
| year to 30 June 2026 | 411 | 10.6% | 87.7% | not reported |
Say-on-pay votes against management
Counting one say-on-pay item per company meeting, BARROW HANLEY MEWHINNEY & STRAUSS LLC voted against management on 32 of the 351 it marked either way (9.1%) in the year to 30 June 2026.
A further 1 say-on-pay item was reported without a management mark and are left out of both sides of that fraction.
- Alphabet Inc. 5 Jun 2026
- UnitedHealth Group Incorporated 1 Jun 2026
- Comcast Corporation 10 Jun 2026
- Fiserv, Inc. 21 May 2026
- Xcel Energy Inc. 20 May 2026
- Microchip Technology Incorporated 19 Aug 2025
- Lennar Corporation 8 Apr 2026
- Tyson Foods, Inc. 5 Feb 2026
- International Flavors & Fragrances Inc. 29 Apr 2026
- Fluor Corporation 6 May 2026
- SharkNinja, Inc. 18 Jun 2026
- Element Solutions Inc 4 May 2026
- Lithia Motors, Inc. 30 Apr 2026
- Rush Enterprises, Inc. 19 May 2026
- Cadence Bank 6 Jan 2026
- Tri Pointe Homes, Inc. 15 Apr 2026
- Tri Pointe Homes, Inc. 16 Apr 2026
- Ingevity Corporation 29 Apr 2026
- The Macerich Company 1 Jun 2026
- Avanos Medical, Inc. 21 Apr 2026
- AMN Healthcare Services, Inc. 1 May 2026
- Douglas Emmett, Inc. 28 May 2026
- American Woodmark Corporation 30 Oct 2025
- The GEO Group, Inc. 28 Apr 2026
- Vital Energy, Inc. 12 Dec 2025
- The ODP Corporation 5 Dec 2025
- Weis Markets, Inc. 30 Apr 2026
- Camping World Holdings, Inc. 21 May 2026
- Hovnanian Enterprises, Inc. 31 Mar 2026
- Berry Corporation (bry) 15 Dec 2025
- Playtika Holding Corp. 11 Jun 2026
- Ribbon Communications Inc. 3 Jun 2026
Shareholder proposals it supported
Institutional managers report say-on-pay votes only, so no shareholder proposals appear here.
Shares on loan
BARROW HANLEY MEWHINNEY & STRAUSS LLC reported 9.6 million shares on loan at record dates against 435.3 million shares voted: 2.17% of the two together. Median institutional manager: 0.00%. Shares lent out at the record date cannot be voted by the lender, which is why Form N-PX asks for the figure. More on lending and votes.
The filings
These figures are read from the filer's own Form N-PX. If a vote on this page looks wrong, the filing is the record: a dispute about a filed vote is a matter for the filer, and an error in how this site read the filing is a matter for corrections.
- N-PX filed 13 Aug 2026 accession 0000313028-26-000045
- Every N-PX filing by this filer on EDGAR
Questions
How did BARROW HANLEY MEWHINNEY & STRAUSS LLC vote on executive pay?
In the year to 30 June 2026 BARROW HANLEY MEWHINNEY & STRAUSS LLC reported 375 votes in the category SECTION 14A SAY-ON-PAY VOTES that were cast for, against or abstain. 329 were for (87.7%), 46 against and 0 abstentions. Counting one item per company meeting, it voted against management on 32 of the 351 say-on-pay items it marked either way. A further 1 say-on-pay item was reported without a management mark and are not counted in that figure.
How often does BARROW HANLEY MEWHINNEY & STRAUSS LLC vote against management?
10.6% of the time in the year to 30 June 2026: 43 of the 406 votes it marked as for or against management. Form N-PX asks each filer to state, vote by vote, whether the vote was for or against management's recommendation; this figure counts those marks.
Is this the result of the meetings?
No. Form N-PX shows how this filer voted the shares it held. It does not show how other shareholders voted or whether a proposal was approved. Companies report certified results separately, on Form 8-K.
Where does the data come from?
From the Form N-PX filings of this filer on the SEC's EDGAR system, read as filed. The SEC does not verify the contents. Amended filings (N-PX/A) replace the filings they amend. Data on this page runs through 23 Sep 2026.
Provenance: SEC EDGAR, Form N-PX and N-PX/A filings by BARROW HANLEY MEWHINNEY & STRAUSS LLC (filer no. 313028), read as filed and not verified by the SEC. Amended filings replace the filings they amend. Filings read through 23 Sep 2026; page built 26 Sep 2026.