Home / Virtus / VIRTUS EQUITY TRUST
VIRTUS EQUITY TRUST
fund voting report, part of Virtus
- Vote records reported
- 5,323year to 30 June 2026
- Against management
- 4.7%250 of 5,297 marked votes
- Say-on-pay support
- 95.5%for, of for + against + abstain
- Shareholder-proposal support
- 24.3%for, of for + against + abstain
foragainstabstain, withhold or otheramber tick: the portion cast against management
In its Form N-PX for the year to 30 June 2026, VIRTUS EQUITY TRUST listed 5,323 vote records. Votes against management made up 4.7% of those marked either way (250 of 5,297); the median fund registrant stood at 6.2%.
Weighted by the number of shares voted, the against-management share is 4.8%. The two figures differ when the votes against management fall on larger or smaller holdings than the rest.
On pay and on shareholder proposals: it voted for 95.5% of the section 14A say-on-pay items it reported (the median fund registrant: 91.6%) and it voted for 24.3% of the proposals put forward by security holders (the median fund registrant: 27.5%).
By category, votes against management were most frequent in CORPORATE GOVERNANCE (16.6% of 331), ENVIRONMENT OR CLIMATE (12.3% of 57) and COMPENSATION (7.9% of 216).
It reported 7,304 shares out on loan at record dates, 0.00% of the shares it held or had lent across the meetings it reported. Shares on loan are not voted.
Compared with other filers
Each rate is defined once, in the methodology. The median is taken over 1,241 fund registrants with at least 25 vote records in the season.
| year to 30 June 2026 | This filer | Median fund registrant | All filers pooled |
|---|---|---|---|
| Against-management share | 4.7% | 6.2% | 10.6% |
| Say-on-pay support rate | 95.5% | 91.6% | 86.0% |
| Shareholder-proposal support rate | 24.3% | 27.5% | 33.9% |
| Shares on loan, share of shares held | 0.00% | 0.00% | 3.12% |
| Largest families, year to 30 June 2026 | Against management | Say-on-pay support | Shareholder-proposal support |
|---|---|---|---|
| Vanguard | 20.1% | 94.1% | 42.0% |
| BlackRock and iShares | 7.5% | 88.3% | 11.9% |
| Fidelity | 6.0% | 94.7% | 27.6% |
| Dimensional | 16.4% | 78.9% | 57.4% |
| State Street and SPDR | 16.9% | 77.1% | 50.4% |
Votes by category
Filers choose one or more categories for each vote, so a vote can appear in more than one row. Category names are printed as Form N-PX defines them.
| Category (as the form names it) | Votes | For | Against | Against management | Split |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| DIRECTOR ELECTIONS | 3,251 | 3,112 | 58 | 4.1% | |
| SECTION 14A SAY-ON-PAY VOTES | 760 | 680 | 32 | 4.2% | |
| AUDIT-RELATED | 439 | 438 | 1 | 0.2% | |
| SHAREHOLDER RIGHTS AND DEFENSES | 22 | 12 | 10 | 0.0% | |
| EXTRAORDINARY TRANSACTIONS | 8 | 7 | 1 | 12.5% | |
| CAPITAL STRUCTURE | 198 | 185 | 13 | 4.0% | |
| COMPENSATION | 216 | 196 | 20 | 7.9% | |
| CORPORATE GOVERNANCE | 335 | 275 | 60 | 16.6% | |
| ENVIRONMENT OR CLIMATE | 57 | 11 | 46 | 12.3% | |
| HUMAN RIGHTS OR HUMAN CAPITAL/WORKFORCE | 18 | 7 | 11 | 22.2% | |
| DIVERSITY, EQUITY, AND INCLUSION | 30 | 4 | 26 | 3.4% | |
| OTHER SOCIAL ISSUES | 93 | 10 | 83 | 1.1% | |
| OTHER | 2 | 1 | 1 | 0.0% |
By season
| Season | Vote records | Against management | Say-on-pay support | Shareholder-proposal support | Split |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| year to 30 June 2024 | 6,108 | 5.4% | 94.9% | 32.4% | |
| year to 30 June 2025 | 5,234 | 4.8% | 94.3% | 21.7% | |
| year to 30 June 2026 | 5,323 | 4.7% | 95.5% | 24.3% |
Say-on-pay votes against management
Counting one say-on-pay item per company meeting, VIRTUS EQUITY TRUST voted against management on 9 of the 183 it marked either way (4.9%) in the year to 30 June 2026.
- The Bank of New York Mellon Corporation 14 Apr 2026
- Marvell Technology, Inc. 25 Jun 2026
- Snowflake Inc. 2 Jul 2025
- Snowflake Inc. 29 Jun 2026
- Aon Plc 26 Jun 2026
- Chemed Corporation 18 May 2026
- Hamilton Lane Incorporated 4 Sep 2025
- UniFirst Corporation 11 Jun 2026
- Bank of Hawaii Corporation 24 Apr 2026
Shareholder proposals it supported
Of 102 proposals from security holders that could be told apart in the filings and on which it cast a vote, VIRTUS EQUITY TRUST voted for 21 (20.6%). Titles are the most common wording among filers; where a wording could name a person, the SEC category is printed instead.
| Company | Meeting | Proposal |
|---|---|---|
| Microsoft Corporation | 5 Dec 2025 | Report on Human Rights Due Diligence |
| Visa Inc. | 27 Jan 2026 | Shareholder proposal on shareholder right to act by written consent. |
| Eli Lilly and Company | 4 May 2026 | Shareholder proposal to adopt a policy and amend the bylaws to require an independent board chair. |
| AbbVie Inc. | 8 May 2026 | Stockholder Proposal - to Adopt a Policy to Require an Independent Chair |
| Netflix, Inc. | 4 Jun 2026 | Stockholder proposal entitled, "Proposal 4 - Shareholder Right to Act by Written Consent," |
| ServiceNow, Inc. | 21 May 2026 | Shareholder proposal regarding shareholder right to act by written consent. |
| S&P Global Inc. | 20 May 2026 | Vote on a shareholder proposal to reduce the stock ownership threshold for calling a special shareholder... |
| Meta Platforms, Inc. | 27 May 2026 | A shareholder proposal regarding disclosure of voting results by share class. |
| Synopsys, Inc. | 16 Apr 2026 | To vote on a stockholder proposal regarding 'stockholders' right to act by written consent |
| Marvell Technology, Inc. | 25 Jun 2026 | To consider and act on one stockholder proposal, entitled "Independent Board Chairman" |
| Snowflake Inc. | 29 Jun 2026 | To consider and vote on, if properly presented at the meeting, a non-binding stockholder proposal... |
| IDEXX Laboratories, Inc. | 12 May 2026 | Shareholder Proposal to Give Shareholders the Ability to Call for a Special Shareholder Meeting (Proposal... |
| Prudential Financial, Inc. | 12 May 2026 | Shareholder proposal regarding an Independent Board Chairman. |
| Datadog, Inc. | 15 Jun 2026 | The stockholder proposal, if properly presented at the Annual Meeting, requesting the adoption of a simple... |
| Avery Dennison Corporation | 30 Apr 2026 | Require Independent Board Chair |
| West Pharmaceutical Services, Inc. | 4 May 2026 | Shareholder proposal regarding an independent Board Chair policy. |
| BJ's Wholesale Club Holdings, Inc. | 18 Jun 2026 | Vote on a shareholder proposal regarding a report on deforestation in the company's own-brand supply chain |
| BJ's Wholesale Club Holdings, Inc. | 18 Jun 2026 | Vote on a shareholder proposal regarding a report on greenhouse gas emissions reduction efforts |
| Murphy USA Inc. | 7 May 2026 | Stockholder Proposal - Give Shareholders the Ability to Call for a Special Shareholder Meeting. |
| FinecoBank SpA | 29 Apr 2026 | Shareholder proposal: AUDIT-RELATED |
| FinecoBank SpA | 29 Apr 2026 | Shareholder proposal: CORPORATE GOVERNANCE |
Shares on loan
VIRTUS EQUITY TRUST reported 7,304 shares on loan at record dates against 2.19 billion shares voted: 0.00% of the two together. Median fund registrant: 0.00%. Shares lent out at the record date cannot be voted by the lender, which is why Form N-PX asks for the figure. More on lending and votes.
Fund series in this filing
13 series reported votes. A vote record can list several series. Series with 500 or more vote records have their own page.
| Series | Vote records | Against management | Say-on-pay support | Shareholder-proposal support |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Virtus Tactical Allocation Fund | 1,364 | 5.8% | 91.5% | 25.9% |
| Virtus KAR Equity Income Fund | 526 | 2.7% | 96.9% | 10.8% |
| Virtus SGA Global Growth Fund | 443 | 4.3% | 94.1% | 25.6% |
| Virtus KAR Capital Growth Fund | 437 | 5.5% | 90.0% | 20.8% |
| Virtus KAR Mid-Cap Growth Fund | 361 | 8.3% | 100.0% | 50.0% |
| Virtus KAR Small-Mid Cap Core Fund | 343 | 5.0% | 93.3% | 40.0% |
| Virtus KAR Mid-Cap Core Fund | 339 | 2.9% | 96.6% | 20.0% |
| Virtus KAR Small-Mid Cap Value Fund | 335 | 5.1% | 96.6% | 57.1% |
| Virtus KAR Small-Mid Cap Growth Fund | 299 | 2.7% | 100.0% | not reported |
| Virtus KAR Small-Cap Value Fund | 295 | 5.9% | 92.6% | not reported |
| Virtus KAR Small-Cap Growth Fund | 275 | 3.6% | 100.0% | not reported |
| Virtus KAR Small-Cap Core Fund | 272 | 2.2% | 100.0% | not reported |
| Virtus KAR Global Quality Dividend Fund | 34 | 0.0% | not reported | not reported |
The filings
These figures are read from the filer's own Form N-PX. If a vote on this page looks wrong, the filing is the record: a dispute about a filed vote is a matter for the filer, and an error in how this site read the filing is a matter for corrections.
- N-PX filed 28 Aug 2026 accession 0000034273-26-000002
- Every N-PX filing by this filer on EDGAR
Questions
How did VIRTUS EQUITY TRUST vote on executive pay?
In the year to 30 June 2026 VIRTUS EQUITY TRUST reported 712 votes in the category SECTION 14A SAY-ON-PAY VOTES that were cast for, against or abstain. 680 were for (95.5%), 32 against and 0 abstentions. Counting one item per company meeting, it voted against management on 9 of the 183 say-on-pay items it marked either way.
How often does VIRTUS EQUITY TRUST vote against management?
4.7% of the time in the year to 30 June 2026: 250 of the 5,297 votes it marked as for or against management. Form N-PX asks each filer to state, vote by vote, whether the vote was for or against management's recommendation; this figure counts those marks.
Did VIRTUS EQUITY TRUST support shareholder proposals on climate?
In the category ENVIRONMENT OR CLIMATE it reported 53 votes on proposals from security holders in the year to 30 June 2026 and voted for 7 of them (13.2%). Across every category it voted for 24.3% of security-holder proposals. Filers choose the category for each vote, so the same proposal can sit in different categories in different filings.
Is this the result of the meetings?
No. Form N-PX shows how this filer voted the shares it held. It does not show how other shareholders voted or whether a proposal was approved. Companies report certified results separately, on Form 8-K.
Where does the data come from?
From the Form N-PX filings of this filer on the SEC's EDGAR system, read as filed. The SEC does not verify the contents. Amended filings (N-PX/A) replace the filings they amend. Data on this page runs through 23 Sep 2026.
Provenance: SEC EDGAR, Form N-PX and N-PX/A filings by VIRTUS EQUITY TRUST (filer no. 34273), read as filed and not verified by the SEC. Amended filings replace the filings they amend. Filings read through 23 Sep 2026; page built 26 Sep 2026.