Home / Franklin Templeton / PUTNAM INVESTMENT FUNDS
PUTNAM INVESTMENT FUNDS
fund voting report, part of Franklin Templeton
- Vote records reported
- 5,391year to 30 June 2026
- Against management
- 7.9%414 of 5,263 marked votes
- Say-on-pay support
- 91.9%for, of for + against + abstain
- Shareholder-proposal support
- 12.1%for, of for + against + abstain
foragainstabstain, withhold or otheramber tick: the portion cast against management
For the year to 30 June 2026, PUTNAM INVESTMENT FUNDS reported 5,391 vote records on Form N-PX. 414 of the 5,263 votes that were marked for or against management went against management: 7.9%, 1.6 percentage points above the median fund registrant (6.2%).
Weighted by the number of shares voted, the against-management share is 9.9%. The two figures differ when the votes against management fall on larger or smaller holdings than the rest.
On pay and on shareholder proposals: it voted for 91.9% of the section 14A say-on-pay items it reported (the median fund registrant: 91.6%) and it voted for 12.1% of the proposals put forward by security holders (the median fund registrant: 27.5%).
By category, votes against management were most frequent in SHAREHOLDER RIGHTS AND DEFENSES (33.3% of 24), CORPORATE GOVERNANCE (20.1% of 369) and COMPENSATION (17.8% of 264).
It reported 343,300 shares out on loan at record dates, 0.03% of the shares it held or had lent across the meetings it reported. Shares on loan are not voted.
Compared with other filers
Each rate is defined once, in the methodology. The median is taken over 1,241 fund registrants with at least 25 vote records in the season.
| year to 30 June 2026 | This filer | Median fund registrant | All filers pooled |
|---|---|---|---|
| Against-management share | 7.9% | 6.2% | 10.6% |
| Say-on-pay support rate | 91.9% | 91.6% | 86.0% |
| Shareholder-proposal support rate | 12.1% | 27.5% | 33.9% |
| Shares on loan, share of shares held | 0.03% | 0.00% | 3.12% |
| Largest families, year to 30 June 2026 | Against management | Say-on-pay support | Shareholder-proposal support |
|---|---|---|---|
| Vanguard | 20.1% | 94.1% | 42.0% |
| BlackRock and iShares | 7.5% | 88.3% | 11.9% |
| Fidelity | 6.0% | 94.7% | 27.6% |
| Dimensional | 16.4% | 78.9% | 57.4% |
| State Street and SPDR | 16.9% | 77.1% | 50.4% |
Votes by category
Filers choose one or more categories for each vote, so a vote can appear in more than one row. Category names are printed as Form N-PX defines them.
| Category (as the form names it) | Votes | For | Against | Against management | Split |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| DIRECTOR ELECTIONS | 3,491 | 3,205 | 179 | 8.2% | |
| SECTION 14A SAY-ON-PAY VOTES | 346 | 295 | 25 | 8.7% | |
| AUDIT-RELATED | 420 | 419 | 1 | 0.0% | |
| SHAREHOLDER RIGHTS AND DEFENSES | 24 | 16 | 8 | 33.3% | |
| EXTRAORDINARY TRANSACTIONS | 25 | 22 | 2 | 8.0% | |
| CAPITAL STRUCTURE | 264 | 262 | 2 | 2.7% | |
| COMPENSATION | 266 | 214 | 52 | 17.8% | |
| CORPORATE GOVERNANCE | 378 | 245 | 114 | 20.1% | |
| ENVIRONMENT OR CLIMATE | 65 | 6 | 59 | 0.0% | |
| HUMAN RIGHTS OR HUMAN CAPITAL/WORKFORCE | 32 | 4 | 28 | 0.0% | |
| DIVERSITY, EQUITY, AND INCLUSION | 41 | 4 | 37 | 0.0% | |
| OTHER SOCIAL ISSUES | 103 | 11 | 92 | 0.0% | |
| OTHER | 2 | 0 | 2 | 50.0% |
By season
| Season | Vote records | Against management | Say-on-pay support | Shareholder-proposal support | Split |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| year to 30 June 2024 | 5,527 | 8.5% | 97.1% | 15.3% | |
| year to 30 June 2025 | 5,531 | 7.4% | 92.5% | 14.6% | |
| year to 30 June 2026 | 5,391 | 7.9% | 91.9% | 12.1% |
Say-on-pay votes against management
Counting one say-on-pay item per company meeting, PUTNAM INVESTMENT FUNDS voted against management on 19 of the 266 it marked either way (7.1%) in the year to 30 June 2026.
- Oracle Corporation 18 Nov 2025
- Thermo Fisher Scientific Inc. 20 May 2026
- PALANTIR TECHNOLOGIES INC. 3 Jun 2026
- Arista Networks, Inc. 29 May 2026
- Welltower Inc. 21 May 2026
- Marvell Technology, Inc. 25 Jun 2026
- Aon Plc 26 Jun 2026
- Roblox Corporation 28 May 2026
- Axos Financial, Inc. 13 Nov 2025
- New York Community Bancorp, Inc. 9 Jun 2026
- TPG Inc. 3 Jun 2026
- Steelcase Inc. 5 Dec 2025
- RingCentral, Inc. 31 Dec 2025
- Newmark Group, Inc. 30 Dec 2025
- Walker & Dunlop, Inc. 19 May 2026
- Levi Strauss & Co. 22 Apr 2026
- MaxLinear, Inc. 20 May 2026
- Nicolet Bankshares, Inc. 18 May 2026
- Abacus Global Management, Inc. 3 Jun 2026
Shareholder proposals it supported
Of 168 proposals from security holders that could be told apart in the filings and on which it cast a vote, PUTNAM INVESTMENT FUNDS voted for 17 (10.1%). Titles are the most common wording among filers; where a wording could name a person, the SEC category is printed instead.
| Company | Meeting | Proposal |
|---|---|---|
| Alphabet Inc. | 5 Jun 2026 | Shareholder proposal regarding equal shareholder voting |
| AbbVie Inc. | 8 May 2026 | Stockholder Proposal - to Adopt a Policy to Require an Independent Chair |
| Tesla, Inc. | 6 Nov 2025 | Declassify the Board of Directors |
| Tesla, Inc. | 6 Nov 2025 | Shareholder proposal: CORPORATE GOVERNANCE |
| Starbucks Corporation | 25 Mar 2026 | Shareholder proposal requesting supermajority shareholder voting requirements be replaced with majority... |
| Meta Platforms, Inc. | 27 May 2026 | A shareholder proposal regarding annual vote regarding executive pay. |
| Meta Platforms, Inc. | 27 May 2026 | A shareholder proposal regarding disclosure of voting results by share class. |
| Meta Platforms, Inc. | 27 May 2026 | A shareholder proposal regarding dual class capital structure. |
| FedEx Corporation | 29 Sep 2025 | Stockholder proposal regarding independent board chairman. |
| Marvell Technology, Inc. | 25 Jun 2026 | To consider and act on one stockholder proposal, entitled "Independent Board Chairman" |
| Snowflake Inc. | 29 Jun 2026 | To consider and vote on, if properly presented at the meeting, a non-binding stockholder proposal... |
| Airbnb, Inc. | 5 Jun 2026 | Dual-class sunset; and |
| Datadog, Inc. | 15 Jun 2026 | The stockholder proposal, if properly presented at the Annual Meeting, requesting the adoption of a simple... |
| Bio-Rad Laboratories, Inc. | 21 Apr 2026 | Stockholder proposal regarding dual class capital structure. |
| Exxon Mobil Corporation | 27 May 2026 | Proposal requesting Company to modify its Voluntary Retail Voting Program to provide multiple options not... |
| Interpump Group SpA | 30 Apr 2026 | Shareholder proposal: AUDIT-RELATED |
| Interpump Group SpA | 30 Apr 2026 | Shareholder proposal: CORPORATE GOVERNANCE |
Shares on loan
PUTNAM INVESTMENT FUNDS reported 343,300 shares on loan at record dates against 1.29 billion shares voted: 0.03% of the two together. Median fund registrant: 0.00%. Shares lent out at the record date cannot be voted by the lender, which is why Form N-PX asks for the figure. More on lending and votes.
Fund series in this filing
5 series reported votes. A vote record can list several series. Series with 500 or more vote records have their own page.
| Series | Vote records | Against management | Say-on-pay support | Shareholder-proposal support |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| U.S. Research | 2,027 | 6.5% | 93.5% | 8.9% |
| Putnam Small Cap Value | 1,095 | 7.9% | 91.1% | not reported |
| Putnam International Small Cap | 842 | 10.8% | not reported | not reported |
| Putnam Sustainable Future Fund | 827 | 9.6% | 91.4% | 20.0% |
| Putnam Large Cap Growth | 600 | 6.0% | 91.9% | 11.9% |
The filings
These figures are read from the filer's own Form N-PX. If a vote on this page looks wrong, the filing is the record: a dispute about a filed vote is a matter for the filer, and an error in how this site read the filing is a matter for corrections.
- N-PX filed 21 Aug 2026 accession 0001193125-26-360908
- Every N-PX filing by this filer on EDGAR
Questions
How did PUTNAM INVESTMENT FUNDS vote on executive pay?
In the year to 30 June 2026 PUTNAM INVESTMENT FUNDS reported 321 votes in the category SECTION 14A SAY-ON-PAY VOTES that were cast for, against or abstain. 295 were for (91.9%), 25 against and 1 abstentions. Counting one item per company meeting, it voted against management on 19 of the 266 say-on-pay items it marked either way.
How often does PUTNAM INVESTMENT FUNDS vote against management?
7.9% of the time in the year to 30 June 2026: 414 of the 5,263 votes it marked as for or against management. Form N-PX asks each filer to state, vote by vote, whether the vote was for or against management's recommendation; this figure counts those marks.
Did PUTNAM INVESTMENT FUNDS support shareholder proposals on climate?
In the category ENVIRONMENT OR CLIMATE it reported 59 votes on proposals from security holders in the year to 30 June 2026 and voted for 0 of them (0.0%). Across every category it voted for 12.1% of security-holder proposals. Filers choose the category for each vote, so the same proposal can sit in different categories in different filings.
Is this the result of the meetings?
No. Form N-PX shows how this filer voted the shares it held. It does not show how other shareholders voted or whether a proposal was approved. Companies report certified results separately, on Form 8-K.
Where does the data come from?
From the Form N-PX filings of this filer on the SEC's EDGAR system, read as filed. The SEC does not verify the contents. Amended filings (N-PX/A) replace the filings they amend. Data on this page runs through 23 Sep 2026.
Provenance: SEC EDGAR, Form N-PX and N-PX/A filings by PUTNAM INVESTMENT FUNDS (filer no. 932101), read as filed and not verified by the SEC. Amended filings replace the filings they amend. Filings read through 23 Sep 2026; page built 26 Sep 2026.