Home / Franklin Templeton / LEGG MASON PARTNERS VARIABLE EQUITY TRUST
LEGG MASON PARTNERS VARIABLE EQUITY TRUST
fund voting report, part of Franklin Templeton
- Vote records reported
- 5,335year to 30 June 2026
- Against management
- 3.9%208 of 5,328 marked votes
- Say-on-pay support
- 90.4%for, of for + against + abstain
- Shareholder-proposal support
- 25.4%for, of for + against + abstain
foragainstabstain, withhold or otheramber tick: the portion cast against management
In its Form N-PX for the year to 30 June 2026, LEGG MASON PARTNERS VARIABLE EQUITY TRUST listed 5,335 vote records. Votes against management made up 3.9% of those marked either way (208 of 5,328); the median fund registrant stood at 6.2%.
Weighted by the number of shares voted, the against-management share is 5.1%. The two figures differ when the votes against management fall on larger or smaller holdings than the rest.
On pay and on shareholder proposals: it voted for 90.4% of the section 14A say-on-pay items it reported (the median fund registrant: 91.6%) and it voted for 25.4% of the proposals put forward by security holders (the median fund registrant: 27.5%).
By category, votes against management were most frequent in SHAREHOLDER RIGHTS AND DEFENSES (46.7% of 30), CORPORATE GOVERNANCE (29.1% of 251) and CAPITAL STRUCTURE (15.4% of 104).
Compared with other filers
Each rate is defined once, in the methodology. The median is taken over 1,241 fund registrants with at least 25 vote records in the season.
| year to 30 June 2026 | This filer | Median fund registrant | All filers pooled |
|---|---|---|---|
| Against-management share | 3.9% | 6.2% | 10.6% |
| Say-on-pay support rate | 90.4% | 91.6% | 86.0% |
| Shareholder-proposal support rate | 25.4% | 27.5% | 33.9% |
| Shares on loan, share of shares held | 0.00% | 0.00% | 3.12% |
| Largest families, year to 30 June 2026 | Against management | Say-on-pay support | Shareholder-proposal support |
|---|---|---|---|
| Vanguard | 20.1% | 94.1% | 42.0% |
| BlackRock and iShares | 7.5% | 88.3% | 11.9% |
| Fidelity | 6.0% | 94.7% | 27.6% |
| Dimensional | 16.4% | 78.9% | 57.4% |
| State Street and SPDR | 16.9% | 77.1% | 50.4% |
Votes by category
Filers choose one or more categories for each vote, so a vote can appear in more than one row. Category names are printed as Form N-PX defines them.
| Category (as the form names it) | Votes | For | Against | Against management | Split |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| DIRECTOR ELECTIONS | 3,789 | 3,741 | 3 | 1.3% | |
| SECTION 14A SAY-ON-PAY VOTES | 394 | 331 | 35 | 9.6% | |
| AUDIT-RELATED | 410 | 410 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| INVESTMENT COMPANY MATTERS | 13 | 13 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| SHAREHOLDER RIGHTS AND DEFENSES | 30 | 24 | 6 | 46.7% | |
| EXTRAORDINARY TRANSACTIONS | 16 | 14 | 2 | 12.5% | |
| CAPITAL STRUCTURE | 104 | 98 | 6 | 15.4% | |
| COMPENSATION | 142 | 121 | 21 | 10.6% | |
| CORPORATE GOVERNANCE | 257 | 179 | 78 | 29.1% | |
| ENVIRONMENT OR CLIMATE | 89 | 6 | 83 | 4.5% | |
| HUMAN RIGHTS OR HUMAN CAPITAL/WORKFORCE | 45 | 7 | 38 | 11.1% | |
| DIVERSITY, EQUITY, AND INCLUSION | 50 | 2 | 48 | 0.0% | |
| OTHER SOCIAL ISSUES | 156 | 13 | 143 | 3.2% |
By season
| Season | Vote records | Against management | Say-on-pay support | Shareholder-proposal support | Split |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| year to 30 June 2024 | 5,594 | 5.0% | 88.9% | 28.5% | |
| year to 30 June 2025 | 5,837 | 3.7% | 87.3% | 22.6% | |
| year to 30 June 2026 | 5,335 | 3.9% | 90.4% | 25.4% |
Say-on-pay votes against management
Counting one say-on-pay item per company meeting, LEGG MASON PARTNERS VARIABLE EQUITY TRUST voted against management on 23 of the 248 it marked either way (9.3%) in the year to 30 June 2026.
- Oracle Corporation 18 Nov 2025
- UnitedHealth Group Incorporated 1 Jun 2026
- Thermo Fisher Scientific Inc. 20 May 2026
- Tesla, Inc. 6 Nov 2025
- Comcast Corporation 10 Jun 2026
- PALANTIR TECHNOLOGIES INC. 3 Jun 2026
- Palo Alto Networks, Inc. 9 Dec 2025
- Snowflake Inc. 2 Jul 2025
- Snowflake Inc. 29 Jun 2026
- Microchip Technology Incorporated 19 Aug 2025
- Cloudflare, Inc. 30 Jun 2026
- Roblox Corporation 28 May 2026
- Bio-Techne Corporation 30 Oct 2025
- IonQ, Inc. 16 Jun 2026
- Qorvo, Inc. 13 Aug 2025
- Somnigroup International, Inc. 13 May 2026
- Wingstop Inc. 21 May 2026
- GXO Logistics, Inc. 20 May 2026
- Trex Company, Inc. 28 Apr 2026
- Element Solutions Inc 4 May 2026
- Wayfair Inc. 21 May 2026
- Hamilton Lane Incorporated 4 Sep 2025
- TG Therapeutics, Inc. 11 Jun 2026
Shareholder proposals it supported
Of 163 proposals from security holders that could be told apart in the filings and on which it cast a vote, LEGG MASON PARTNERS VARIABLE EQUITY TRUST voted for 48 (29.4%). The 40 at the companies with the most reporting filers are listed. Titles are the most common wording among filers; where a wording could name a person, the SEC category is printed instead.
| Company | Meeting | Proposal |
|---|---|---|
| Microsoft Corporation | 5 Dec 2025 | Report on Data Operations in Human Rights Hotspots |
| NVIDIA Corporation | 24 Jun 2026 | Approval of a non-binding stockholder proposal requesting the replacement of supermajority voting... |
| Alphabet Inc. | 5 Jun 2026 | Shareholder proposal regarding equal shareholder voting |
| Visa Inc. | 27 Jan 2026 | Shareholder proposal on shareholder right to act by written consent. |
| Johnson & Johnson | 23 Apr 2026 | Independent Board Chair |
| Eli Lilly and Company | 4 May 2026 | Shareholder proposal to prepare an annual lobbying report. |
| Eli Lilly and Company | 4 May 2026 | Shareholder proposal to adopt a policy and amend the bylaws to require an independent board chair. |
| AbbVie Inc. | 8 May 2026 | Stockholder Proposal - to Adopt a Policy to Require an Independent Chair |
| Netflix, Inc. | 4 Jun 2026 | Stockholder proposal entitled, "Proposal 4 - Shareholder Right to Act by Written Consent," |
| Bank of America Corporation | 4 May 2026 | Shareholder proposal requesting independent board chair |
| Tesla, Inc. | 6 Nov 2025 | A shareholder proposal to seek shareholder approval before adopting an amendment to the bylaws pursuant to... |
| Tesla, Inc. | 6 Nov 2025 | Declassify the Board of Directors |
| Tesla, Inc. | 6 Nov 2025 | Shareholder proposal: CORPORATE GOVERNANCE |
| ServiceNow, Inc. | 21 May 2026 | Shareholder proposal regarding shareholder right to act by written consent. |
| Texas Instruments Incorporated | 16 Apr 2026 | Stockholder proposal to permit stockholders to act by written consent. |
| HONEYWELL INTERNATIONAL INC. | 22 May 2026 | Shareowner Proposal - Shareholder Right to Act by Written Consent. |
| PALANTIR TECHNOLOGIES INC. | 3 Jun 2026 | Stockholder proposal entitled "Political Spending Disclosure," |
| S&P Global Inc. | 20 May 2026 | Vote on a shareholder proposal to reduce the stock ownership threshold for calling a special shareholder... |
| Deere & Company | 25 Feb 2026 | Shareholder proposal on shareholder right to act by written consent |
| Starbucks Corporation | 25 Mar 2026 | Shareholder proposal requesting supermajority shareholder voting requirements be replaced with majority... |
| THE BOEING COMPANY | 17 Apr 2026 | Action by Written Consent. |
| Palo Alto Networks, Inc. | 9 Dec 2025 | To consider and vote upon a shareholder proposal, if properly presented at the Annual Meeting, regarding... |
| CVS Health Corporation | 14 May 2026 | Stockholder Proposal for Reducing the Threshold for Our Stockholder Right to Act By Written Consent. |
| Booking Holdings Inc. | 2 Jun 2026 | Non-binding stockholder vote on a proposal to avoid brand damage due to corporate political spending. |
| Meta Platforms, Inc. | 27 May 2026 | A shareholder proposal regarding annual vote regarding executive pay. |
| Meta Platforms, Inc. | 27 May 2026 | A shareholder proposal regarding disclosure of voting results by share class. |
| Meta Platforms, Inc. | 27 May 2026 | A shareholder proposal regarding dual class capital structure. |
| Vertex Pharmaceuticals Incorporated | 13 May 2026 | Shareholder proposal, if properly presented at the meeting, regarding shareholder right to act by written... |
| The Sherwin-Williams Company | 22 Apr 2026 | Shareholder Proposal Regarding Shareholder Ability to Call a Special Meeting |
| O'Reilly Automotive, Inc. | 14 May 2026 | Shareholder proposal entitled "Avoid Brand Damage due to Corporate Political Spending." |
| L3Harris Technologies, Inc. | 11 May 2026 | Shareholder Proposal titled "Improve Shareholder Ability to Call for a Special Shareholder Meeting". |
| Otis Worldwide Corporation | 27 May 2026 | Shareholder proposal regarding reporting on political contributions and expenditures |
| Synopsys, Inc. | 16 Apr 2026 | To vote on a stockholder proposal regarding 'stockholders' right to act by written consent |
| Snowflake Inc. | 29 Jun 2026 | To consider and vote on, if properly presented at the meeting, a non-binding stockholder proposal... |
| Cintas Corporation | 28 Oct 2025 | A shareholder proposal regarding support for shareholder ability to call for a special shareholder meeting. |
| Autodesk, Inc. | 17 Jun 2026 | Stockholder proposal requesting amendment to stockholder special meeting right. |
| WEC Energy Group, Inc. | 7 May 2026 | Stockholder proposal to govern by majority vote |
| Airbnb, Inc. | 5 Jun 2026 | Dual-class sunset; and |
| The Hartford Insurance Group, Inc. | 20 May 2026 | Shareholder proposal that the Company adopt written consent rights for shareholders |
| Datadog, Inc. | 15 Jun 2026 | The stockholder proposal, if properly presented at the Annual Meeting, requesting the adoption of a simple... |
Shares on loan
LEGG MASON PARTNERS VARIABLE EQUITY TRUST reported no shares on loan for the year to 30 June 2026. Shares lent out at the record date cannot be voted by the lender, which is why Form N-PX asks for the figure. More on lending and votes.
Fund series in this filing
15 series reported votes. A vote record can list several series. Series with 500 or more vote records have their own page.
| Series | Vote records | Against management | Say-on-pay support | Shareholder-proposal support |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ClearBridge Variable Appreciation Portfolio | 859 | 3.7% | 91.2% | 23.7% |
| ClearBridge Variable Large Cap Value Portfolio | 818 | 3.1% | 92.0% | 19.8% |
| ClearBridge Variable Dividend Strategy Portfolio | 811 | 2.1% | 95.5% | 18.2% |
| ClearBridge Variable Mid Cap Portfolio | 747 | 2.3% | 93.1% | 66.7% |
| ClearBridge Variable Small Cap Growth Portfolio | 605 | 3.8% | 90.3% | 60.0% |
| ClearBridge Variable Growth Portfolio | 550 | 5.5% | 84.1% | 40.0% |
| ClearBridge Variable Large Cap Growth Portfolio | 482 | 5.6% | 81.8% | 29.2% |
| Franklin Templeton Moderately Conservative Model Portfolio | 95 | 7.4% | not reported | not reported |
| Franklin Templeton Moderate Model Portfolio | 94 | 10.6% | not reported | not reported |
| Franklin Templeton Moderately Aggressive Model Portfolio | 86 | 9.3% | not reported | not reported |
| Franklin Templeton Conservative Model Portfolio | 82 | 4.9% | not reported | not reported |
| Franklin Templeton Aggressive Model Portfolio | 58 | 13.8% | not reported | not reported |
| Franklin Multi-Asset Variable Conservative Growth Fund | 16 | 0.0% | not reported | not reported |
| Franklin Multi-Asset Variable Moderate Growth Fund | 16 | 0.0% | not reported | not reported |
| Franklin Multi-Asset Variable Growth Fund | 16 | 0.0% | not reported | not reported |
The filings
These figures are read from the filer's own Form N-PX. If a vote on this page looks wrong, the filing is the record: a dispute about a filed vote is a matter for the filer, and an error in how this site read the filing is a matter for corrections.
- N-PX filed 14 Aug 2026 accession 0001193125-26-351342
- Every N-PX filing by this filer on EDGAR
Questions
How did LEGG MASON PARTNERS VARIABLE EQUITY TRUST vote on executive pay?
In the year to 30 June 2026 LEGG MASON PARTNERS VARIABLE EQUITY TRUST reported 366 votes in the category SECTION 14A SAY-ON-PAY VOTES that were cast for, against or abstain. 331 were for (90.4%), 35 against and 0 abstentions. Counting one item per company meeting, it voted against management on 23 of the 248 say-on-pay items it marked either way.
How often does LEGG MASON PARTNERS VARIABLE EQUITY TRUST vote against management?
3.9% of the time in the year to 30 June 2026: 208 of the 5,328 votes it marked as for or against management. Form N-PX asks each filer to state, vote by vote, whether the vote was for or against management's recommendation; this figure counts those marks.
Did LEGG MASON PARTNERS VARIABLE EQUITY TRUST support shareholder proposals on climate?
In the category ENVIRONMENT OR CLIMATE it reported 87 votes on proposals from security holders in the year to 30 June 2026 and voted for 4 of them (4.6%). Across every category it voted for 25.4% of security-holder proposals. Filers choose the category for each vote, so the same proposal can sit in different categories in different filings.
Is this the result of the meetings?
No. Form N-PX shows how this filer voted the shares it held. It does not show how other shareholders voted or whether a proposal was approved. Companies report certified results separately, on Form 8-K.
Where does the data come from?
From the Form N-PX filings of this filer on the SEC's EDGAR system, read as filed. The SEC does not verify the contents. Amended filings (N-PX/A) replace the filings they amend. Data on this page runs through 23 Sep 2026.
Provenance: SEC EDGAR, Form N-PX and N-PX/A filings by LEGG MASON PARTNERS VARIABLE EQUITY TRUST (filer no. 1176343), read as filed and not verified by the SEC. Amended filings replace the filings they amend. Filings read through 23 Sep 2026; page built 26 Sep 2026.