Home / Nuveen and TIAA / NUVEEN INVESTMENT FUNDS INC
NUVEEN INVESTMENT FUNDS INC
fund voting report, part of Nuveen and TIAA
- Vote records reported
- 8,360year to 30 June 2026
- Against management
- 5.8%480 of 8,342 marked votes
- Say-on-pay support
- 93.2%for, of for + against + abstain
- Shareholder-proposal support
- 27.5%for, of for + against + abstain
foragainstabstain, withhold or otheramber tick: the portion cast against management
In its Form N-PX for the year to 30 June 2026, NUVEEN INVESTMENT FUNDS INC listed 8,360 vote records. Votes against management made up 5.8% of those marked either way (480 of 8,342); the median fund registrant stood at 6.2%.
Weighted by the number of shares voted, the against-management share is 4.4%. The two figures differ when the votes against management fall on larger or smaller holdings than the rest.
On pay and on shareholder proposals: it voted for 93.2% of the section 14A say-on-pay items it reported (the median fund registrant: 91.6%) and it voted for 27.5% of the proposals put forward by security holders (the median fund registrant: 27.5%).
By category, votes against management were most frequent in ENVIRONMENT OR CLIMATE (20.4% of 49), EXTRAORDINARY TRANSACTIONS (8.9% of 45) and COMPENSATION (8.5% of 400).
It reported 1.5 million shares out on loan at record dates, 0.09% of the shares it held or had lent across the meetings it reported. Shares on loan are not voted.
Compared with other filers
Each rate is defined once, in the methodology. The median is taken over 1,241 fund registrants with at least 25 vote records in the season.
| year to 30 June 2026 | This filer | Median fund registrant | All filers pooled |
|---|---|---|---|
| Against-management share | 5.8% | 6.2% | 10.6% |
| Say-on-pay support rate | 93.2% | 91.6% | 86.0% |
| Shareholder-proposal support rate | 27.5% | 27.5% | 33.9% |
| Shares on loan, share of shares held | 0.09% | 0.00% | 3.12% |
| Largest families, year to 30 June 2026 | Against management | Say-on-pay support | Shareholder-proposal support |
|---|---|---|---|
| Vanguard | 20.1% | 94.1% | 42.0% |
| BlackRock and iShares | 7.5% | 88.3% | 11.9% |
| Fidelity | 6.0% | 94.7% | 27.6% |
| Dimensional | 16.4% | 78.9% | 57.4% |
| State Street and SPDR | 16.9% | 77.1% | 50.4% |
Votes by category
Filers choose one or more categories for each vote, so a vote can appear in more than one row. Category names are printed as Form N-PX defines them.
| Category (as the form names it) | Votes | For | Against | Against management | Split |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| DIRECTOR ELECTIONS | 5,615 | 5,263 | 155 | 6.2% | |
| SECTION 14A SAY-ON-PAY VOTES | 679 | 592 | 43 | 6.8% | |
| AUDIT-RELATED | 762 | 760 | 2 | 0.3% | |
| SHAREHOLDER RIGHTS AND DEFENSES | 28 | 26 | 2 | 3.6% | |
| EXTRAORDINARY TRANSACTIONS | 45 | 39 | 6 | 8.9% | |
| CAPITAL STRUCTURE | 339 | 326 | 13 | 4.1% | |
| COMPENSATION | 407 | 372 | 35 | 8.5% | |
| CORPORATE GOVERNANCE | 454 | 402 | 52 | 5.3% | |
| ENVIRONMENT OR CLIMATE | 49 | 22 | 27 | 20.4% | |
| HUMAN RIGHTS OR HUMAN CAPITAL/WORKFORCE | 19 | 4 | 15 | 0.0% | |
| DIVERSITY, EQUITY, AND INCLUSION | 15 | 4 | 11 | 0.0% | |
| OTHER SOCIAL ISSUES | 43 | 15 | 28 | 7.0% | |
| OTHER | 10 | 9 | 1 | 0.0% |
By season
| Season | Vote records | Against management | Say-on-pay support | Shareholder-proposal support | Split |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| year to 30 June 2024 | 9,290 | 4.9% | 92.5% | 35.0% | |
| year to 30 June 2025 | 9,239 | 5.4% | 92.7% | 28.4% | |
| year to 30 June 2026 | 8,360 | 5.8% | 93.2% | 27.5% |
Say-on-pay votes against management
Counting one say-on-pay item per company meeting, NUVEEN INVESTMENT FUNDS INC voted against management on 25 of the 375 it marked either way (6.7%) in the year to 30 June 2026.
- ConocoPhillips 12 May 2026
- Prologis, Inc. 28 Apr 2026
- Carrier Global Corporation 15 Apr 2026
- T-Mobile US, Inc. 16 Jun 2026
- Marsh & McLennan Companies, Inc. 21 May 2026
- Welltower Inc. 21 May 2026
- Cheniere Energy, Inc. 14 May 2026
- Fidelity National Information Services, Inc. 10 Jun 2026
- Rocket Lab Corporation 27 Aug 2025
- BioMarin Pharmaceutical Inc. 2 Jun 2026
- SouthState Bank Corporation 15 Apr 2026
- Matador Resources Company 11 Jun 2026
- Wingstop Inc. 21 May 2026
- Rexford Industrial Realty, Inc. 19 May 2026
- SM Energy Company 21 May 2026
- Chart Industries, Inc. 6 Oct 2025
- Masimo Corporation 1 May 2026
- Old National Bancorp 13 May 2026
- Atlantic Union Bankshares Corporation 5 May 2026
- Home BancShares, Inc. 16 Apr 2026
- Northern Oil and Gas, Inc. 21 May 2026
- Workiva Inc. 28 May 2026
- Banner Corporation 20 May 2026
- OceanFirst Financial Corp. 27 May 2026
- Armada Hoffler Properties, Inc. 17 Jun 2026
Shareholder proposals it supported
Of 94 proposals from security holders that could be told apart in the filings and on which it cast a vote, NUVEEN INVESTMENT FUNDS INC voted for 24 (25.5%). Titles are the most common wording among filers; where a wording could name a person, the SEC category is printed instead.
| Company | Meeting | Proposal |
|---|---|---|
| Amazon.com, Inc. | 20 May 2026 | Shareholder proposal requesting additional reporting on impact of data centers on climate commitments |
| NVIDIA Corporation | 24 Jun 2026 | Approval of a non-binding stockholder proposal requesting the replacement of supermajority voting... |
| NextEra Energy, Inc. | 21 May 2026 | Report on Plans to Reduce and Align GHG Emissions with Paris Agreement Goals |
| Wells Fargo & Company | 28 Apr 2026 | Require Independent Board Chair |
| Wells Fargo & Company | 28 Apr 2026 | Shareholder Proposal - Energy Supply Ratio. |
| ConocoPhillips | 12 May 2026 | Stockholder Proposal - Independent Board Chairman. |
| PALANTIR TECHNOLOGIES INC. | 3 Jun 2026 | Stockholder proposal entitled "Political Spending Disclosure," |
| Meta Platforms, Inc. | 27 May 2026 | A shareholder proposal regarding annual vote regarding executive pay. |
| Meta Platforms, Inc. | 27 May 2026 | Shareholder Proposal Regarding Data Protection Impact Assessment |
| Meta Platforms, Inc. | 27 May 2026 | A shareholder proposal regarding disclosure of voting results by share class. |
| Meta Platforms, Inc. | 27 May 2026 | A shareholder proposal regarding report on climate change-related commitments. |
| Meta Platforms, Inc. | 27 May 2026 | A shareholder proposal regarding dual class capital structure. |
| Dover Corporation | 8 May 2026 | To consider a shareholder proposal requesting an independent board chair. |
| NRG Energy, Inc. | 30 Apr 2026 | To vote on a stockholder proposal to give shareholders the ability to call for a special shareholder meeting |
| Darden Restaurants, Inc. | 17 Sep 2025 | To vote on a shareholder proposal requesting the Company disclose measurable targets for reducing... |
| Humana Inc. | 16 Apr 2026 | The stockholder proposal requesting shareholder approval requirement for excessive golden parachutes |
| Domino's Pizza, Inc. | 21 Apr 2026 | Shareholder proposal regarding an independent board chair requirement. |
| Domino's Pizza, Inc. | 21 Apr 2026 | Shareholder proposal: CORPORATE GOVERNANCE |
| Campbell Soup Company | 18 Nov 2025 | To vote on a shareholder proposal regarding simple majority voting. |
| OGE Energy Corp. | 14 May 2026 | Shareholder Proposal Regarding Simple Majority Vote. |
| AutoNation, Inc. | 28 Apr 2026 | Adoption of stockholder proposal regarding GHG report. |
| ArcBest Corporation | 24 Apr 2026 | A shareholder proposal to approve GHG emissions reduction targets |
| ENAV SpA | 14 May 2026 | Shareholder proposal: CORPORATE GOVERNANCE |
| ENAV SpA | 14 May 2026 | Fix Board Terms for Directors |
Shares on loan
NUVEEN INVESTMENT FUNDS INC reported 1.5 million shares on loan at record dates against 1.70 billion shares voted: 0.09% of the two together. Median fund registrant: 0.00%. Shares lent out at the record date cannot be voted by the lender, which is why Form N-PX asks for the figure. More on lending and votes.
Fund series in this filing
11 series reported votes. A vote record can list several series. Series with 500 or more vote records have their own page.
| Series | Vote records | Against management | Say-on-pay support | Shareholder-proposal support |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nuveen Real Asset Income Fund | 1,440 | 4.3% | 96.1% | 37.5% |
| Nuveen Global Infrastructure Fund | 998 | 5.7% | 96.3% | 33.3% |
| Nuveen Dividend Value Fund | 830 | 3.7% | 90.3% | 19.0% |
| Nuveen Small Cap Select Fund | 805 | 8.7% | 89.3% | not reported |
| Nuveen Small Cap Value Fund | 797 | 6.0% | 94.7% | not reported |
| Nuveen Mid Cap Value Opportunities Fund | 766 | 3.8% | 96.8% | 29.4% |
| Nuveen Real Estate Securities Fund | 721 | 3.7% | 95.0% | not reported |
| Nuveen Large Cap Select Fund | 706 | 6.1% | 88.2% | 28.6% |
| Nuveen Small/Mid Cap Growth Opportunities Fund | 668 | 7.9% | 94.9% | not reported |
| Nuveen Small Cap Growth Opportunities Fund | 627 | 9.6% | 96.2% | not reported |
| Nuveen Credit Income Fund | 2 | 0.0% | not reported | not reported |
The filings
These figures are read from the filer's own Form N-PX. If a vote on this page looks wrong, the filing is the record: a dispute about a filed vote is a matter for the filer, and an error in how this site read the filing is a matter for corrections.
- N-PX filed 20 Aug 2026 accession 0000930413-26-002607
- Every N-PX filing by this filer on EDGAR
Questions
How did NUVEEN INVESTMENT FUNDS INC vote on executive pay?
In the year to 30 June 2026 NUVEEN INVESTMENT FUNDS INC reported 635 votes in the category SECTION 14A SAY-ON-PAY VOTES that were cast for, against or abstain. 592 were for (93.2%), 43 against and 0 abstentions. Counting one item per company meeting, it voted against management on 25 of the 375 say-on-pay items it marked either way.
How often does NUVEEN INVESTMENT FUNDS INC vote against management?
5.8% of the time in the year to 30 June 2026: 480 of the 8,342 votes it marked as for or against management. Form N-PX asks each filer to state, vote by vote, whether the vote was for or against management's recommendation; this figure counts those marks.
Did NUVEEN INVESTMENT FUNDS INC support shareholder proposals on climate?
In the category ENVIRONMENT OR CLIMATE it reported 37 votes on proposals from security holders in the year to 30 June 2026 and voted for 10 of them (27.0%). Across every category it voted for 27.5% of security-holder proposals. Filers choose the category for each vote, so the same proposal can sit in different categories in different filings.
Is this the result of the meetings?
No. Form N-PX shows how this filer voted the shares it held. It does not show how other shareholders voted or whether a proposal was approved. Companies report certified results separately, on Form 8-K.
Where does the data come from?
From the Form N-PX filings of this filer on the SEC's EDGAR system, read as filed. The SEC does not verify the contents. Amended filings (N-PX/A) replace the filings they amend. Data on this page runs through 23 Sep 2026.
Provenance: SEC EDGAR, Form N-PX and N-PX/A filings by NUVEEN INVESTMENT FUNDS INC (filer no. 820892), read as filed and not verified by the SEC. Amended filings replace the filings they amend. Filings read through 23 Sep 2026; page built 26 Sep 2026.