Home / First Trust / FIRST TRUST VARIABLE INSURANCE TRUST
FIRST TRUST VARIABLE INSURANCE TRUST
fund voting report, part of First Trust
- Vote records reported
- 6,758year to 30 June 2026
- Against management
- 3.4%229 of 6,756 marked votes
- Say-on-pay support
- 95.7%for, of for + against + abstain
- Shareholder-proposal support
- 22.8%for, of for + against + abstain
foragainstabstain, withhold or otheramber tick: the portion cast against management
In its Form N-PX for the year to 30 June 2026, FIRST TRUST VARIABLE INSURANCE TRUST listed 6,758 vote records. Votes against management made up 3.4% of those marked either way (229 of 6,756); the median fund registrant stood at 6.2%.
Weighted by the number of shares voted, the against-management share is 3.6%. The two figures differ when the votes against management fall on larger or smaller holdings than the rest.
On pay and on shareholder proposals: it voted for 95.7% of the section 14A say-on-pay items it reported (the median fund registrant: 91.6%) and it voted for 22.8% of the proposals put forward by security holders (the median fund registrant: 27.5%).
By category, votes against management were most frequent in CORPORATE GOVERNANCE (16.5% of 486), SHAREHOLDER RIGHTS AND DEFENSES (12.0% of 25) and HUMAN RIGHTS OR HUMAN CAPITAL/WORKFORCE (7.3% of 55).
Compared with other filers
Each rate is defined once, in the methodology. The median is taken over 1,241 fund registrants with at least 25 vote records in the season.
| year to 30 June 2026 | This filer | Median fund registrant | All filers pooled |
|---|---|---|---|
| Against-management share | 3.4% | 6.2% | 10.6% |
| Say-on-pay support rate | 95.7% | 91.6% | 86.0% |
| Shareholder-proposal support rate | 22.8% | 27.5% | 33.9% |
| Shares on loan, share of shares held | 0.00% | 0.00% | 3.12% |
| Largest families, year to 30 June 2026 | Against management | Say-on-pay support | Shareholder-proposal support |
|---|---|---|---|
| Vanguard | 20.1% | 94.1% | 42.0% |
| BlackRock and iShares | 7.5% | 88.3% | 11.9% |
| Fidelity | 6.0% | 94.7% | 27.6% |
| Dimensional | 16.4% | 78.9% | 57.4% |
| State Street and SPDR | 16.9% | 77.1% | 50.4% |
Votes by category
Filers choose one or more categories for each vote, so a vote can appear in more than one row. Category names are printed as Form N-PX defines them.
| Category (as the form names it) | Votes | For | Against | Against management | Split |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| DIRECTOR ELECTIONS | 4,765 | 4,597 | 48 | 2.2% | |
| SECTION 14A SAY-ON-PAY VOTES | 429 | 398 | 18 | 4.4% | |
| AUDIT-RELATED | 492 | 479 | 1 | 0.0% | |
| SHAREHOLDER RIGHTS AND DEFENSES | 25 | 14 | 11 | 12.0% | |
| EXTRAORDINARY TRANSACTIONS | 13 | 9 | 4 | 23.1% | |
| CAPITAL STRUCTURE | 170 | 160 | 2 | 2.4% | |
| COMPENSATION | 243 | 207 | 20 | 5.8% | |
| CORPORATE GOVERNANCE | 487 | 334 | 95 | 16.5% | |
| ENVIRONMENT OR CLIMATE | 103 | 15 | 87 | 1.0% | |
| HUMAN RIGHTS OR HUMAN CAPITAL/WORKFORCE | 55 | 16 | 38 | 7.3% | |
| DIVERSITY, EQUITY, AND INCLUSION | 62 | 12 | 49 | 0.0% | |
| OTHER SOCIAL ISSUES | 155 | 21 | 133 | 0.6% | |
| OTHER | 3 | 1 | 2 | 0.0% |
By season
| Season | Vote records | Against management | Say-on-pay support | Shareholder-proposal support | Split |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| year to 30 June 2024 | 7,137 | 4.3% | 95.1% | 23.6% | |
| year to 30 June 2025 | 6,845 | 3.5% | 94.9% | 11.3% | |
| year to 30 June 2026 | 6,758 | 3.4% | 95.7% | 22.8% |
Say-on-pay votes against management
Counting one say-on-pay item per company meeting, FIRST TRUST VARIABLE INSURANCE TRUST voted against management on 17 of the 273 it marked either way (6.2%) in the year to 30 June 2026.
- Broadcom Inc. 20 Apr 2026
- Oracle Corporation 18 Nov 2025
- Comcast Corporation 10 Jun 2026
- PALANTIR TECHNOLOGIES INC. 3 Jun 2026
- Palo Alto Networks, Inc. 9 Dec 2025
- Arista Networks, Inc. 29 May 2026
- Prologis, Inc. 28 Apr 2026
- Dell Technologies Inc. 25 Jun 2026
- Welltower Inc. 21 May 2026
- Simon Property Group, Inc. 13 May 2026
- AppLovin Corporation 3 Jun 2026
- Aon Plc 26 Jun 2026
- Omnicom Group Inc. 5 May 2026
- The Trade Desk, Inc. 4 May 2026
- Graco Inc. 24 Apr 2026
- Chemed Corporation 18 May 2026
- Plains GP Holdings, L.P. 20 May 2026
Shareholder proposals it supported
Of 192 proposals from security holders that could be told apart in the filings and on which it cast a vote, FIRST TRUST VARIABLE INSURANCE TRUST voted for 51 (26.6%). The 40 at the companies with the most reporting filers are listed. Titles are the most common wording among filers; where a wording could name a person, the SEC category is printed instead.
| Company | Meeting | Proposal |
|---|---|---|
| NVIDIA Corporation | 24 Jun 2026 | Approval of a non-binding stockholder proposal requesting the replacement of supermajority voting... |
| Visa Inc. | 27 Jan 2026 | Shareholder proposal on shareholder right to act by written consent. |
| JPMorgan Chase & Co. | 19 May 2026 | Independent board chairman |
| Mastercard Incorporated | 16 Jun 2026 | Consideration of a stockholder proposal regarding shareholder right to act by written consent |
| Eli Lilly and Company | 4 May 2026 | Shareholder proposal to adopt a policy and amend the bylaws to require an independent board chair. |
| AbbVie Inc. | 8 May 2026 | Stockholder Proposal - to Adopt a Policy to Require an Independent Chair |
| Netflix, Inc. | 4 Jun 2026 | Stockholder proposal entitled, "Proposal 4 - Shareholder Right to Act by Written Consent," |
| McDonald's Corporation | 20 May 2026 | Advisory Vote on Shareholders' Right to Act by Written Consent. |
| QUALCOMM Incorporated | 17 Mar 2026 | Stockholder proposal entitled "Shareholder Ability to Call for a Special Meeting." |
| International Business Machines Corporation | 28 Apr 2026 | Stockholder Proposal Requesting a Right to Act by Written Consent |
| CATERPILLAR INC. | 10 Jun 2026 | Shareholder Proposal - Shareholder Right to Act by Written Consent |
| ServiceNow, Inc. | 21 May 2026 | Shareholder proposal regarding shareholder right to act by written consent. |
| ConocoPhillips | 12 May 2026 | Stockholder Proposal - Independent Board Chairman. |
| HONEYWELL INTERNATIONAL INC. | 22 May 2026 | Shareowner Proposal - Shareholder Right to Act by Written Consent. |
| Comcast Corporation | 10 Jun 2026 | Adopt policy to have an independent chair |
| Deere & Company | 25 Feb 2026 | Shareholder proposal on shareholder right to act by written consent |
| Starbucks Corporation | 25 Mar 2026 | Shareholder proposal requesting supermajority shareholder voting requirements be replaced with majority... |
| Starbucks Corporation | 25 Mar 2026 | Shareholder proposal requesting a report on the risks of the Company excluding religious charities from... |
| LOCKHEED MARTIN CORPORATION | 12 May 2026 | Stockholder Proposal Requiring Independent Board Chairman |
| Palo Alto Networks, Inc. | 9 Dec 2025 | To consider and vote upon a shareholder proposal, if properly presented at the Annual Meeting, regarding... |
| Meta Platforms, Inc. | 27 May 2026 | A shareholder proposal regarding annual vote regarding executive pay. |
| Meta Platforms, Inc. | 27 May 2026 | A shareholder proposal regarding disclosure of voting results by share class. |
| Meta Platforms, Inc. | 27 May 2026 | A shareholder proposal regarding dual class capital structure. |
| Zoetis Inc. | 20 May 2026 | Shareholder proposal to permit shareholder action by written consent. |
| Dominion Energy, Inc. | 5 May 2026 | Shareholder Proposal Regarding a Policy for an Independent Chair |
| General Mills, Inc. | 30 Sep 2025 | Shareholder Proposal - Adopt Policy to Separate the Board Chair and CEO Roles. |
| Cintas Corporation | 28 Oct 2025 | A shareholder proposal regarding support for shareholder ability to call for a special shareholder meeting. |
| Equinix, Inc. | 13 May 2026 | Consideration and vote upon a stockholder proposal, if properly presented at the Annual Meeting, related... |
| AppLovin Corporation | 3 Jun 2026 | Stockholder proposal regarding disclosure of voting results by class of shares |
| WEC Energy Group, Inc. | 7 May 2026 | Stockholder proposal to govern by majority vote |
| Airbnb, Inc. | 5 Jun 2026 | Dual-class sunset; and |
| The Hartford Insurance Group, Inc. | 20 May 2026 | Shareholder proposal that the Company adopt written consent rights for shareholders |
| Cognizant Technology Solutions Corporation | 2 Jun 2026 | Shareholder proposal to adopt shareholder right to act by written consent |
| Dover Corporation | 8 May 2026 | To consider a shareholder proposal requesting an independent board chair. |
| PPG Industries, Inc. | 16 Apr 2026 | Shareholder proposal to adopt a policy requiring an independent board chair |
| FirstEnergy Corp. | 20 May 2026 | Independent Board Chairman |
| Cboe Global Markets, Inc. | 14 May 2026 | Stockholder proposal regarding shareholder right to act by written consent. |
| Avery Dennison Corporation | 30 Apr 2026 | Require Independent Board Chair |
| CMS Energy Corporation | 8 May 2026 | Vote on a Shareholder Proposal: Shareholder Right to Act by Written Consent. |
| CF Industries Holdings, Inc. | 28 Apr 2026 | Shareholder proposal regarding shareholder approval requirement for excessive golden parachutes |
Shares on loan
FIRST TRUST VARIABLE INSURANCE TRUST reported no shares on loan for the year to 30 June 2026. Shares lent out at the record date cannot be voted by the lender, which is why Form N-PX asks for the figure. More on lending and votes.
Fund series in this filing
7 series reported votes. A vote record can list several series. Series with 500 or more vote records have their own page.
| Series | Vote records | Against management | Say-on-pay support | Shareholder-proposal support |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| First Trust/Dow Jones Dividend & Income Allocation Portfolio | 1,790 | 3.8% | 96.5% | 29.0% |
| First Trust Multi Income Allocation Portfolio | 1,510 | 3.4% | 92.9% | 27.5% |
| First Trust Capital Strength Hedged Equity Portfolio | 1,084 | 2.0% | 100.0% | 19.1% |
| First Trust International Developed Capital Strength Portfolio | 923 | 1.0% | not reported | 9.4% |
| First Trust Capital Strength Portfolio | 674 | 2.1% | 100.0% | 17.3% |
| First Trust Growth Strength Portfolio | 657 | 8.7% | 88.0% | 26.5% |
| First Trust Dorsey Wright Tactical Core Portfolio | 120 | 6.7% | not reported | not reported |
The filings
These figures are read from the filer's own Form N-PX. If a vote on this page looks wrong, the filing is the record: a dispute about a filed vote is a matter for the filer, and an error in how this site read the filing is a matter for corrections.
- N-PX filed 5 Aug 2026 accession 0001445546-26-005725
- Every N-PX filing by this filer on EDGAR
Questions
How did FIRST TRUST VARIABLE INSURANCE TRUST vote on executive pay?
In the year to 30 June 2026 FIRST TRUST VARIABLE INSURANCE TRUST reported 416 votes in the category SECTION 14A SAY-ON-PAY VOTES that were cast for, against or abstain. 398 were for (95.7%), 18 against and 0 abstentions. Counting one item per company meeting, it voted against management on 17 of the 273 say-on-pay items it marked either way.
How often does FIRST TRUST VARIABLE INSURANCE TRUST vote against management?
3.4% of the time in the year to 30 June 2026: 229 of the 6,756 votes it marked as for or against management. Form N-PX asks each filer to state, vote by vote, whether the vote was for or against management's recommendation; this figure counts those marks.
Did FIRST TRUST VARIABLE INSURANCE TRUST support shareholder proposals on climate?
In the category ENVIRONMENT OR CLIMATE it reported 88 votes on proposals from security holders in the year to 30 June 2026 and voted for 1 of them (1.1%). Across every category it voted for 22.8% of security-holder proposals. Filers choose the category for each vote, so the same proposal can sit in different categories in different filings.
Is this the result of the meetings?
No. Form N-PX shows how this filer voted the shares it held. It does not show how other shareholders voted or whether a proposal was approved. Companies report certified results separately, on Form 8-K.
Where does the data come from?
From the Form N-PX filings of this filer on the SEC's EDGAR system, read as filed. The SEC does not verify the contents. Amended filings (N-PX/A) replace the filings they amend. Data on this page runs through 23 Sep 2026.
Provenance: SEC EDGAR, Form N-PX and N-PX/A filings by FIRST TRUST VARIABLE INSURANCE TRUST (filer no. 1537395), read as filed and not verified by the SEC. Amended filings replace the filings they amend. Filings read through 23 Sep 2026; page built 26 Sep 2026.