Home / Russell Investments / RUSSELL INVESTMENT CO
RUSSELL INVESTMENT CO
fund voting report, part of Russell Investments
- Vote records reported
- 133,851year to 30 June 2026
- Against management
- 8.1%10,402 of 127,916 marked votes
- Say-on-pay support
- 87.5%for, of for + against + abstain
- Shareholder-proposal support
- 42.6%for, of for + against + abstain
foragainstabstain, withhold or otheramber tick: the portion cast against management
In its Form N-PX for the year to 30 June 2026, RUSSELL INVESTMENT CO listed 133,851 vote records. Votes against management made up 8.1% of those marked either way (10,402 of 127,916); the median fund registrant stood at 6.2%.
Weighted by the number of shares voted, the against-management share is 12.7%. The two figures differ when the votes against management fall on larger or smaller holdings than the rest.
On pay and on shareholder proposals: it voted for 87.5% of the section 14A say-on-pay items it reported (the median fund registrant: 91.6%) and it voted for 42.6% of the proposals put forward by security holders (the median fund registrant: 27.5%).
By category, votes against management were most frequent in SHAREHOLDER RIGHTS AND DEFENSES (49.7% of 1,054), HUMAN RIGHTS OR HUMAN CAPITAL/WORKFORCE (20.3% of 237) and DIVERSITY, EQUITY, AND INCLUSION (15.3% of 124).
It reported 31.3 million shares out on loan at record dates, 0.16% of the shares it held or had lent across the meetings it reported. Shares on loan are not voted.
Compared with other filers
Each rate is defined once, in the methodology. The median is taken over 1,241 fund registrants with at least 25 vote records in the season.
| year to 30 June 2026 | This filer | Median fund registrant | All filers pooled |
|---|---|---|---|
| Against-management share | 8.1% | 6.2% | 10.6% |
| Say-on-pay support rate | 87.5% | 91.6% | 86.0% |
| Shareholder-proposal support rate | 42.6% | 27.5% | 33.9% |
| Shares on loan, share of shares held | 0.16% | 0.00% | 3.12% |
| Largest families, year to 30 June 2026 | Against management | Say-on-pay support | Shareholder-proposal support |
|---|---|---|---|
| Vanguard | 20.1% | 94.1% | 42.0% |
| BlackRock and iShares | 7.5% | 88.3% | 11.9% |
| Fidelity | 6.0% | 94.7% | 27.6% |
| Dimensional | 16.4% | 78.9% | 57.4% |
| State Street and SPDR | 16.9% | 77.1% | 50.4% |
Votes by category
Filers choose one or more categories for each vote, so a vote can appear in more than one row. Category names are printed as Form N-PX defines them.
| Category (as the form names it) | Votes | For | Against | Against management | Split |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| DIRECTOR ELECTIONS | 70,598 | 63,458 | 3,805 | 7.6% | |
| SECTION 14A SAY-ON-PAY VOTES | 5,707 | 4,696 | 671 | 12.1% | |
| AUDIT-RELATED | 9,386 | 9,139 | 86 | 0.9% | |
| INVESTMENT COMPANY MATTERS | 14 | 6 | 8 | 0.0% | |
| SHAREHOLDER RIGHTS AND DEFENSES | 1,079 | 845 | 187 | 49.7% | |
| EXTRAORDINARY TRANSACTIONS | 1,329 | 1,295 | 32 | 2.0% | |
| CAPITAL STRUCTURE | 12,419 | 11,365 | 832 | 6.8% | |
| COMPENSATION | 10,475 | 8,579 | 1,369 | 12.5% | |
| CORPORATE GOVERNANCE | 20,368 | 17,458 | 1,552 | 8.6% | |
| ENVIRONMENT OR CLIMATE | 591 | 143 | 448 | 14.5% | |
| HUMAN RIGHTS OR HUMAN CAPITAL/WORKFORCE | 237 | 48 | 189 | 20.3% | |
| DIVERSITY, EQUITY, AND INCLUSION | 130 | 25 | 105 | 15.3% | |
| OTHER SOCIAL ISSUES | 751 | 421 | 330 | 13.8% | |
| OTHER | 33 | 17 | 16 | not reported |
By season
| Season | Vote records | Against management | Say-on-pay support | Shareholder-proposal support | Split |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| year to 30 June 2024 | 129,865 | 7.4% | 85.6% | 35.4% | |
| year to 30 June 2025 | 136,579 | 7.6% | 87.5% | 32.9% | |
| year to 30 June 2026 | 133,851 | 8.1% | 87.5% | 42.6% |
Say-on-pay votes against management
Counting one say-on-pay item per company meeting, RUSSELL INVESTMENT CO voted against management on 251 of the 1,909 it marked either way (13.1%) in the year to 30 June 2026. The 40 companies with the most reporting filers are listed.
A further 34 say-on-pay items were reported without a management mark and are left out of both sides of that fraction.
- Alphabet Inc. 5 Jun 2026
- Broadcom Inc. 20 Apr 2026
- UnitedHealth Group Incorporated 1 Jun 2026
- Costco Wholesale Corporation 15 Jan 2026
- Thermo Fisher Scientific Inc. 20 May 2026
- Tesla, Inc. 6 Nov 2025
- Salesforce, Inc. 28 May 2026
- Wells Fargo & Company 28 Apr 2026
- The Goldman Sachs Group, Inc. 29 Apr 2026
- Citigroup Inc. 20 May 2026
- Intel Corporation 13 May 2026
- Comcast Corporation 10 Jun 2026
- Starbucks Corporation 25 Mar 2026
- Palo Alto Networks, Inc. 9 Dec 2025
- BlackRock, Inc. 20 May 2026
- Capital One Financial Corporation 8 May 2026
- Arista Networks, Inc. 29 May 2026
- Prologis, Inc. 28 Apr 2026
- WARNER BROS. DISCOVERY, INC. 23 Apr 2026
- WARNER BROS. DISCOVERY, INC. 9 Jun 2026
- T-Mobile US, Inc. 16 Jun 2026
- The Bank of New York Mellon Corporation 14 Apr 2026
- Dell Technologies Inc. 25 Jun 2026
- Welltower Inc. 21 May 2026
- Marvell Technology, Inc. 25 Jun 2026
- Snowflake Inc. 2 Jul 2025
- Snowflake Inc. 29 Jun 2026
- The Hershey Company 5 May 2026
- Fiserv, Inc. 21 May 2026
- Sempra 12 May 2026
- Xcel Energy Inc. 20 May 2026
- Aon Plc 26 Jun 2026
- American International Group, Inc. 13 May 2026
- Occidental Petroleum Corporation 1 May 2026
- Crown Castle Inc. 20 May 2026
- Microchip Technology Incorporated 19 Aug 2025
- Omnicom Group Inc. 5 May 2026
- Cloudflare, Inc. 30 Jun 2026
- Axon Enterprise, Inc. 28 May 2026
- Ulta Beauty, Inc. 9 Jun 2026
Shareholder proposals it supported
Of 615 proposals from security holders that could be told apart in the filings and on which it cast a vote, RUSSELL INVESTMENT CO voted for 251 (40.8%). The 40 at the companies with the most reporting filers are listed. Titles are the most common wording among filers; where a wording could name a person, the SEC category is printed instead.
| Company | Meeting | Proposal |
|---|---|---|
| Amazon.com, Inc. | 20 May 2026 | Shareholder proposal requesting a mandatory independent board chair policy |
| Amazon.com, Inc. | 20 May 2026 | Shareholder proposal requesting additional reporting on impact of data centers on climate commitments |
| NVIDIA Corporation | 24 Jun 2026 | Approval of a non-binding stockholder proposal requesting the replacement of supermajority voting... |
| Alphabet Inc. | 5 Jun 2026 | Shareholder proposal regarding a report on AI data usage oversight |
| Alphabet Inc. | 5 Jun 2026 | Shareholder proposal regarding a report on AI-generated misinformation |
| Alphabet Inc. | 5 Jun 2026 | Shareholder proposal regarding equal shareholder voting |
| Visa Inc. | 27 Jan 2026 | Require Independent Board Chair |
| JPMorgan Chase & Co. | 19 May 2026 | Independent board chairman |
| Johnson & Johnson | 23 Apr 2026 | Independent Board Chair |
| Eli Lilly and Company | 4 May 2026 | Shareholder proposal to adopt a policy and amend the bylaws to require an independent board chair. |
| AbbVie Inc. | 8 May 2026 | Stockholder Proposal - to Adopt a Policy to Require an Independent Chair |
| Netflix, Inc. | 4 Jun 2026 | Stockholder proposal entitled, "Proposal 4 - Shareholder Right to Act by Written Consent," |
| The Home Depot, Inc. | 21 May 2026 | Shareholder Proposal Regarding Independent Board Chair |
| CHEVRON CORPORATION | 27 May 2026 | Adopt an Independent Chair |
| Bank of America Corporation | 4 May 2026 | Shareholder proposal requesting independent board chair |
| Walmart Inc. | 4 Jun 2026 | Report on Workplace Health and Safety Governance |
| Walmart Inc. | 4 Jun 2026 | Report on Immigration Policy & Enforcement |
| Berkshire Hathaway Inc. | 2 May 2026 | Shareholder proposal requesting that the Company issue a report disclosing the Board's oversight framework... |
| UnitedHealth Group Incorporated | 1 Jun 2026 | If properly presented at the 2026 Annual Meeting of Shareholders, the shareholder proposal requesting the... |
| PEPSICO, INC. | 6 May 2026 | Shareholder Proposal - Report on Human Rights Oversight. |
| PEPSICO, INC. | 6 May 2026 | Shareholder Proposal - Independent Board Chair. |
| The Coca-Cola Company | 29 Apr 2026 | Vote on a shareowner proposal requesting a report on the Company's plans to increase sustainability disclosure |
| Tesla, Inc. | 6 Nov 2025 | A shareholder proposal to amend the bylaws to repeal 3% derivative suit ownership threshold. |
| Tesla, Inc. | 6 Nov 2025 | A shareholder proposal to amend Article X of the bylaws. |
| Tesla, Inc. | 6 Nov 2025 | A shareholder proposal to seek shareholder approval before adopting an amendment to the bylaws pursuant to... |
| Tesla, Inc. | 6 Nov 2025 | Declassify the Board of Directors |
| Tesla, Inc. | 6 Nov 2025 | Shareholder proposal: CORPORATE GOVERNANCE |
| Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. | 13 May 2026 | Stockholder proposal requesting changes to the stockholder right to call a special meeting. |
| McDonald's Corporation | 20 May 2026 | Advisory Vote to Adopt Policy for an Independent Chair. |
| QUALCOMM Incorporated | 17 Mar 2026 | Stockholder proposal entitled "Shareholder Ability to Call for a Special Meeting." |
| International Business Machines Corporation | 28 Apr 2026 | Stockholder Proposal Requesting a Right to Act by Written Consent |
| CATERPILLAR INC. | 10 Jun 2026 | Shareholder Proposal - Shareholder Right to Act by Written Consent |
| Pfizer Inc. | 23 Apr 2026 | Adopt an Independent Chair Policy |
| AT&T INC. | 14 May 2026 | EEO-1 Report Disclosure Policy |
| Wells Fargo & Company | 28 Apr 2026 | Require Independent Board Chair |
| Amgen Inc. | 19 May 2026 | Stockholder proposal to require an independent board chairman. |
| Texas Instruments Incorporated | 16 Apr 2026 | Stockholder proposal to permit stockholders to act by written consent. |
| Bristol-Myers Squibb Company | 5 May 2026 | Require Independent Board Chair |
| ConocoPhillips | 12 May 2026 | Stockholder Proposal - Independent Board Chairman. |
| The Goldman Sachs Group, Inc. | 29 Apr 2026 | Shareholder Proposal Regarding Lobbying Disclosure |
Shares on loan
RUSSELL INVESTMENT CO reported 31.3 million shares on loan at record dates against 20.07 billion shares voted: 0.16% of the two together. Median fund registrant: 0.00%. Shares lent out at the record date cannot be voted by the lender, which is why Form N-PX asks for the figure. More on lending and votes.
Fund series in this filing
18 series reported votes. A vote record can list several series. Series with 500 or more vote records have their own page.
| Series | Vote records | Against management | Say-on-pay support | Shareholder-proposal support |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Multi-Asset Strategy Fund | 14,993 | 8.0% | 89.1% | 37.7% |
| Tax-Managed International Equity Fund | 13,954 | 7.7% | 90.5% | 10.8% |
| Multi-Strategy Income Fund | 12,383 | 7.9% | 87.3% | 37.8% |
| Multifactor International Equity Fund | 10,194 | 5.5% | 93.3% | 7.1% |
| Multifactor U.S. Equity Fund | 9,328 | 8.8% | 88.0% | 54.8% |
| U.S. Small Cap Equity Fund | 8,995 | 10.6% | 86.1% | 67.6% |
| International Developed Markets Fund | 8,689 | 5.7% | 92.9% | 10.3% |
| Tax-Managed U.S. Mid & Small Cap Fund | 8,234 | 9.4% | 88.3% | 80.0% |
| Emerging Markets Fund | 8,007 | 11.8% | 84.6% | 35.3% |
| Global Equity Fund | 7,706 | 7.3% | 87.1% | 43.1% |
| Sustainable Equity Fund | 6,998 | 7.7% | 90.0% | 48.5% |
| Tax-Managed U.S. Large Cap Fund | 5,876 | 9.2% | 85.7% | 52.1% |
| Tax-Managed Real Assets Fund | 5,701 | 7.5% | 90.3% | 39.3% |
| U.S. Strategic Equity Fund | 5,370 | 9.2% | 86.8% | 48.9% |
| Equity Income Fund | 3,772 | 7.7% | 87.8% | 50.6% |
| Global Infrastructure Fund | 1,933 | 5.8% | 91.1% | 18.9% |
| Global Real Estate Securities Fund | 1,713 | 5.9% | 89.1% | not reported |
| Tax Exempt High Yield Bond Fund | 5 | 0.0% | not reported | not reported |
The filings
These figures are read from the filer's own Form N-PX. If a vote on this page looks wrong, the filing is the record: a dispute about a filed vote is a matter for the filer, and an error in how this site read the filing is a matter for corrections.
- N-PX filed 28 Aug 2026 accession 0001193125-26-374592
- N-PX filed 28 Aug 2026 accession 0001193125-26-374593
- Every N-PX filing by this filer on EDGAR
Questions
How did RUSSELL INVESTMENT CO vote on executive pay?
In the year to 30 June 2026 RUSSELL INVESTMENT CO reported 5,367 votes in the category SECTION 14A SAY-ON-PAY VOTES that were cast for, against or abstain. 4,696 were for (87.5%), 671 against and 0 abstentions. Counting one item per company meeting, it voted against management on 251 of the 1,909 say-on-pay items it marked either way. A further 34 say-on-pay items were reported without a management mark and are not counted in that figure.
How often does RUSSELL INVESTMENT CO vote against management?
8.1% of the time in the year to 30 June 2026: 10,402 of the 127,916 votes it marked as for or against management. Form N-PX asks each filer to state, vote by vote, whether the vote was for or against management's recommendation; this figure counts those marks.
Did RUSSELL INVESTMENT CO support shareholder proposals on climate?
In the category ENVIRONMENT OR CLIMATE it reported 533 votes on proposals from security holders in the year to 30 June 2026 and voted for 85 of them (15.9%). Across every category it voted for 42.6% of security-holder proposals. Filers choose the category for each vote, so the same proposal can sit in different categories in different filings.
Is this the result of the meetings?
No. Form N-PX shows how this filer voted the shares it held. It does not show how other shareholders voted or whether a proposal was approved. Companies report certified results separately, on Form 8-K.
Where does the data come from?
From the Form N-PX filings of this filer on the SEC's EDGAR system, read as filed. The SEC does not verify the contents. Amended filings (N-PX/A) replace the filings they amend. Data on this page runs through 23 Sep 2026.
Provenance: SEC EDGAR, Form N-PX and N-PX/A filings by RUSSELL INVESTMENT CO (filer no. 351601), read as filed and not verified by the SEC. Amended filings replace the filings they amend. Filings read through 23 Sep 2026; page built 26 Sep 2026.