Home / John Hancock and Manulife / John Hancock Funds II
John Hancock Funds II
fund voting report, part of John Hancock and Manulife
- Vote records reported
- 63,579year to 30 June 2026
- Against management
- 12.0%6,561 of 54,816 marked votes
- Say-on-pay support
- 88.5%for, of for + against + abstain
- Shareholder-proposal support
- 26.9%for, of for + against + abstain
foragainstabstain, withhold or otheramber tick: the portion cast against management
John Hancock Funds II reported 63,579 vote records for the year to 30 June 2026. It marked 12.0% of its votes as cast against management (6,561 of 54,816), 5.7 percentage points above the median fund registrant, which was 6.2%.
Weighted by the number of shares voted, the against-management share is 11.5%. The two figures differ when the votes against management fall on larger or smaller holdings than the rest.
On pay and on shareholder proposals: it voted for 88.5% of the section 14A say-on-pay items it reported (the median fund registrant: 91.6%) and it voted for 26.9% of the proposals put forward by security holders (the median fund registrant: 27.5%).
By category, votes against management were most frequent in SHAREHOLDER RIGHTS AND DEFENSES (51.7% of 290), EXTRAORDINARY TRANSACTIONS (26.2% of 2,279) and CORPORATE GOVERNANCE (22.6% of 9,401).
It reported 321.8 million shares out on loan at record dates, 2.52% of the shares it held or had lent across the meetings it reported. Shares on loan are not voted.
Compared with other filers
Each rate is defined once, in the methodology. The median is taken over 1,241 fund registrants with at least 25 vote records in the season.
| year to 30 June 2026 | This filer | Median fund registrant | All filers pooled |
|---|---|---|---|
| Against-management share | 12.0% | 6.2% | 10.6% |
| Say-on-pay support rate | 88.5% | 91.6% | 86.0% |
| Shareholder-proposal support rate | 26.9% | 27.5% | 33.9% |
| Shares on loan, share of shares held | 2.52% | 0.00% | 3.12% |
| Largest families, year to 30 June 2026 | Against management | Say-on-pay support | Shareholder-proposal support |
|---|---|---|---|
| Vanguard | 20.1% | 94.1% | 42.0% |
| BlackRock and iShares | 7.5% | 88.3% | 11.9% |
| Fidelity | 6.0% | 94.7% | 27.6% |
| Dimensional | 16.4% | 78.9% | 57.4% |
| State Street and SPDR | 16.9% | 77.1% | 50.4% |
Of the 63,579 vote records in this filing, 8,542 carry something the form does not expect: a missing vote source or category, a record with no vote line, a meeting date that cannot be read, or a security identifier this site could not use. They are counted as filed. What is checked
Votes by category
Filers choose one or more categories for each vote, so a vote can appear in more than one row. Category names are printed as Form N-PX defines them.
| Category (as the form names it) | Votes | For | Against | Against management | Split |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| DIRECTOR ELECTIONS | 22,145 | 20,546 | 1,095 | 7.1% | |
| SECTION 14A SAY-ON-PAY VOTES | 1,885 | 1,625 | 210 | 11.7% | |
| AUDIT-RELATED | 3,697 | 3,505 | 165 | 5.0% | |
| INVESTMENT COMPANY MATTERS | 5 | 3 | 2 | 40.0% | |
| SHAREHOLDER RIGHTS AND DEFENSES | 299 | 156 | 72 | 51.7% | |
| EXTRAORDINARY TRANSACTIONS | 2,279 | 1,681 | 586 | 26.2% | |
| CAPITAL STRUCTURE | 8,768 | 7,494 | 1,248 | 14.5% | |
| COMPENSATION | 3,913 | 3,270 | 638 | 15.8% | |
| CORPORATE GOVERNANCE | 9,461 | 7,242 | 2,095 | 22.6% | |
| ENVIRONMENT OR CLIMATE | 190 | 38 | 149 | 12.8% | |
| HUMAN RIGHTS OR HUMAN CAPITAL/WORKFORCE | 144 | 14 | 130 | 9.2% | |
| DIVERSITY, EQUITY, AND INCLUSION | 28 | 1 | 27 | 3.6% | |
| OTHER SOCIAL ISSUES | 499 | 233 | 256 | 12.6% | |
| OTHER | 4,061 | 3,663 | 303 | 7.8% |
By season
| Season | Vote records | Against management | Say-on-pay support | Shareholder-proposal support | Split |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| year to 30 June 2024 | 174,120 | 14.7% | 79.2% | 38.0% | |
| year to 30 June 2025 | 118,559 | 10.4% | 80.1% | 25.5% | |
| year to 30 June 2026 | 63,579 | 12.0% | 88.5% | 26.9% |
Say-on-pay votes against management
Counting one say-on-pay item per company meeting, John Hancock Funds II voted against management on 161 of the 1,253 it marked either way (12.8%) in the year to 30 June 2026. The 40 companies with the most reporting filers are listed.
A further 13 say-on-pay items were reported without a management mark and are left out of both sides of that fraction.
- Berkshire Hathaway Inc. 2 May 2026
- Wells Fargo & Company 28 Apr 2026
- Adobe Inc. 15 Apr 2026
- Citigroup Inc. 20 May 2026
- Comcast Corporation 10 Jun 2026
- PALANTIR TECHNOLOGIES INC. 3 Jun 2026
- Palo Alto Networks, Inc. 9 Dec 2025
- BlackRock, Inc. 20 May 2026
- Arista Networks, Inc. 29 May 2026
- WARNER BROS. DISCOVERY, INC. 23 Apr 2026
- WARNER BROS. DISCOVERY, INC. 9 Jun 2026
- FedEx Corporation 29 Sep 2025
- The Bank of New York Mellon Corporation 14 Apr 2026
- Dell Technologies Inc. 25 Jun 2026
- Welltower Inc. 21 May 2026
- Snowflake Inc. 2 Jul 2025
- Howmet Aerospace Inc. 19 May 2026
- AppLovin Corporation 3 Jun 2026
- Hewlett Packard Enterprise Company 1 Apr 2026
- Aon Plc 26 Jun 2026
- Microchip Technology Incorporated 19 Aug 2025
- Omnicom Group Inc. 5 May 2026
- Apollo Global Management, Inc. 8 Jun 2026
- Charter Communications, Inc. 21 Apr 2026
- Fidelity National Information Services, Inc. 10 Jun 2026
- Workday, Inc. 16 Jun 2026
- The Trade Desk, Inc. 4 May 2026
- The Estee Lauder Companies Inc. 13 Nov 2025
- lululemon athletica inc. 25 Jun 2026
- Global Payments Inc. 30 Apr 2026
- Tyson Foods, Inc. 5 Feb 2026
- Skyworks Solutions, Inc. 13 May 2026
- Moderna, Inc. 6 May 2026
- Las Vegas Sands Corp. 14 May 2026
- Bio-Techne Corporation 30 Oct 2025
- Paycom Software, Inc. 4 May 2026
- Houlihan Lokey, Inc. 17 Sep 2025
- Viper Energy, Inc. 19 May 2026
- Moelis & Company 25 Jun 2026
- OSI Systems, Inc. 11 Dec 2025
Shareholder proposals it supported
Of 564 proposals from security holders that could be told apart in the filings and on which it cast a vote, John Hancock Funds II voted for 139 (24.6%). The 40 at the companies with the most reporting filers are listed. Titles are the most common wording among filers; where a wording could name a person, the SEC category is printed instead.
| Company | Meeting | Proposal |
|---|---|---|
| NVIDIA Corporation | 24 Jun 2026 | Approval of a non-binding stockholder proposal requesting the replacement of supermajority voting... |
| Alphabet Inc. | 5 Jun 2026 | Shareholder proposal regarding equal shareholder voting |
| JPMorgan Chase & Co. | 19 May 2026 | Independent board chairman |
| AbbVie Inc. | 8 May 2026 | Stockholder Proposal - to Adopt a Policy to Require an Independent Chair |
| CHEVRON CORPORATION | 27 May 2026 | Report on Indigenous Peoples' Rights |
| Bank of America Corporation | 4 May 2026 | Shareholder proposal requesting independent board chair |
| Tesla, Inc. | 6 Nov 2025 | Declassify the Board of Directors |
| Tesla, Inc. | 6 Nov 2025 | Shareholder proposal: CORPORATE GOVERNANCE |
| Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. | 13 May 2026 | Stockholder proposal requesting changes to the stockholder right to call a special meeting. |
| McDonald's Corporation | 20 May 2026 | Advisory Vote on Shareholders' Right to Act by Written Consent. |
| NextEra Energy, Inc. | 21 May 2026 | Report on Plans to Reduce and Align GHG Emissions with Paris Agreement Goals |
| QUALCOMM Incorporated | 17 Mar 2026 | Stockholder proposal entitled "Shareholder Ability to Call for a Special Meeting." |
| International Business Machines Corporation | 28 Apr 2026 | Stockholder Proposal Requesting a Right to Act by Written Consent |
| CATERPILLAR INC. | 10 Jun 2026 | Shareholder Proposal - Shareholder Right to Act by Written Consent |
| AT&T INC. | 14 May 2026 | Shareholder Right to Act by Written Consent |
| Wells Fargo & Company | 28 Apr 2026 | Require Independent Board Chair |
| Wells Fargo & Company | 28 Apr 2026 | Shareholder Proposal - Govern by Majority Vote. |
| Texas Instruments Incorporated | 16 Apr 2026 | Stockholder proposal to permit stockholders to act by written consent. |
| ConocoPhillips | 12 May 2026 | Stockholder Proposal - Independent Board Chairman. |
| HONEYWELL INTERNATIONAL INC. | 22 May 2026 | Shareowner Proposal - Shareholder Right to Act by Written Consent. |
| Comcast Corporation | 10 Jun 2026 | Adopt policy to have an independent chair |
| PALANTIR TECHNOLOGIES INC. | 3 Jun 2026 | Stockholder proposal entitled "Human Rights Impact Assessment," |
| PALANTIR TECHNOLOGIES INC. | 3 Jun 2026 | Stockholder proposal entitled "Political Spending Disclosure," |
| S&P Global Inc. | 20 May 2026 | Vote on a shareholder proposal to reduce the stock ownership threshold for calling a special shareholder... |
| Deere & Company | 25 Feb 2026 | Shareholder proposal on shareholder right to act by written consent |
| Starbucks Corporation | 25 Mar 2026 | Shareholder proposal requesting supermajority shareholder voting requirements be replaced with majority... |
| THE BOEING COMPANY | 17 Apr 2026 | Action by Written Consent. |
| LOCKHEED MARTIN CORPORATION | 12 May 2026 | Stockholder Proposal Requiring Independent Board Chairman |
| Micron Technology, Inc. | 15 Jan 2026 | Reduce Ownership Threshold for Shareholders to Call Special Meeting |
| Palo Alto Networks, Inc. | 9 Dec 2025 | To consider and vote upon a shareholder proposal, if properly presented at the Annual Meeting, regarding... |
| Lam Research Corporation | 4 Nov 2025 | Stockholder proposal titled "Realistic Shareholder Ability to Call for a Special Shareholder Meeting," |
| Analog Devices, Inc. | 11 Mar 2026 | To consider a shareholder proposal |
| CVS Health Corporation | 14 May 2026 | Stockholder Proposal for Reducing the Threshold for Our Stockholder Right to Act By Written Consent. |
| EXXON MOBIL CORPORATION | 27 May 2026 | Proposal requesting Company to modify its Voluntary Retail Voting Program to provide multiple options not... |
| Boston Scientific Corporation | 30 Apr 2026 | Stockholder proposal titled "Give Shareholders the Ability to Call for a Special Shareholder Meeting." |
| Meta Platforms, Inc. | 27 May 2026 | A shareholder proposal regarding annual vote regarding executive pay. |
| Meta Platforms, Inc. | 27 May 2026 | A shareholder proposal regarding dual class capital structure. |
| United Parcel Service, Inc. | 7 May 2026 | To take steps to reduce the voting power of UPS class A stock from 10 votes per share to one vote per share. |
| Target Corporation | 10 Jun 2026 | Require Independent Board Chair |
| Zoetis Inc. | 20 May 2026 | Shareholder proposal to permit shareholder action by written consent. |
Shares on loan
John Hancock Funds II reported 321.8 million shares on loan at record dates against 12.44 billion shares voted: 2.52% of the two together. Median fund registrant: 0.00%. Shares lent out at the record date cannot be voted by the lender, which is why Form N-PX asks for the figure. More on lending and votes.
Fund series in this filing
42 series reported votes. A vote record can list several series. Series with 500 or more vote records have their own page.
| Series | Vote records | Against management | Say-on-pay support | Shareholder-proposal support |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| International Strategic Equity Allocation Fund | 41,964 | 14.2% | 83.0% | 15.0% |
| U.S. Sector Rotation Fund | 6,607 | 6.2% | 90.7% | 40.2% |
| Multi-Asset Absolute Return Fund | 3,075 | 13.6% | 91.6% | 65.4% |
| Emerging Markets Fund | 2,241 | 20.8% | 68.8% | not reported |
| International Small Company Fund | 2,046 | 9.7% | 51.7% | 20.0% |
| Equity Income Fund | 1,755 | 2.9% | 96.5% | 4.2% |
| Mid Value Fund | 1,421 | 3.4% | 98.3% | 4.0% |
| Global Equity Fund | 1,210 | 3.7% | 93.1% | 14.3% |
| Blue Chip Growth Fund | 786 | 5.0% | 100.0% | 10.7% |
| Capital Appreciation Value Fund | 691 | 5.1% | 100.0% | 13.0% |
| Fundamental All Cap Core Fund | 635 | 3.8% | 91.1% | 17.9% |
| Small Cap Growth Fund | 513 | 7.8% | 89.1% | not reported |
| Real Estate Securities Fund | 367 | 2.2% | 97.0% | not reported |
| Opportunistic Fixed Income Fund | 58 | 17.9% | not reported | not reported |
| Capital Appreciation Fund | 28 | 4.3% | not reported | not reported |
| Emerging Markets Debt Fund | 23 | 8.7% | not reported | not reported |
| Strategic Income Opportunities Fund | 18 | 0.0% | not reported | not reported |
| New Opportunities Fund | 16 | 12.5% | not reported | not reported |
| Multimanager Lifestyle Growth Portfolio | 11 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Lifestyle Blend Balanced Portfolio | 5 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Lifestyle Blend Conservative Portfolio | 5 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Lifestyle Blend Growth Portfolio | 5 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Lifestyle Blend Moderate Portfolio | 5 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Multimanager Lifestyle Moderate Portfolio | 5 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Multimanager Lifestyle Balanced Portfolio | 5 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Multimanager Lifestyle Aggressive Portfolio | 5 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Multimanager 2025 Lifetime Portfolio | 5 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Multimanager 2030 Lifetime Portfolio | 5 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Multimanager 2035 Lifetime Portfolio | 5 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Multimanager 2040 Lifetime Portfolio | 5 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Multimanager 2045 Lifetime Portfolio | 5 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Multimanager 2055 Lifetime Portfolio | 5 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Multimanager 2050 Lifetime Portfolio | 5 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Multimanager 2060 Lifetime Portfolio | 5 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| 2010 Lifetime Blend Portfolio | 5 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| 2015 Lifetime Blend Portfolio | 5 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| 2020 Lifetime Blend Portfolio | 5 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| 2025 Lifetime Blend Portfolio | 5 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| 2030 Lifetime Blend Portfolio | 5 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| 2035 Lifetime Blend Portfolio | 5 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Multimanager 2065 Lifetime Portfolio | 5 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Floating Rate Income Fund | 4 | 0.0% | not reported | not reported |
The filings
These figures are read from the filer's own Form N-PX. If a vote on this page looks wrong, the filing is the record: a dispute about a filed vote is a matter for the filer, and an error in how this site read the filing is a matter for corrections.
- N-PX filed 24 Aug 2026 accession 0001438934-26-001432
- Every N-PX filing by this filer on EDGAR
Questions
How did John Hancock Funds II vote on executive pay?
In the year to 30 June 2026 John Hancock Funds II reported 1,829 votes in the category SECTION 14A SAY-ON-PAY VOTES that were cast for, against or abstain. 1,619 were for (88.5%), 210 against and 0 abstentions. Counting one item per company meeting, it voted against management on 161 of the 1,253 say-on-pay items it marked either way. A further 13 say-on-pay items were reported without a management mark and are not counted in that figure.
How often does John Hancock Funds II vote against management?
12.0% of the time in the year to 30 June 2026: 6,561 of the 54,816 votes it marked as for or against management. Form N-PX asks each filer to state, vote by vote, whether the vote was for or against management's recommendation; this figure counts those marks.
Did John Hancock Funds II support shareholder proposals on climate?
In the category ENVIRONMENT OR CLIMATE it reported 173 votes on proposals from security holders in the year to 30 June 2026 and voted for 21 of them (12.1%). Across every category it voted for 26.9% of security-holder proposals. Filers choose the category for each vote, so the same proposal can sit in different categories in different filings.
Is this the result of the meetings?
No. Form N-PX shows how this filer voted the shares it held. It does not show how other shareholders voted or whether a proposal was approved. Companies report certified results separately, on Form 8-K.
Where does the data come from?
From the Form N-PX filings of this filer on the SEC's EDGAR system, read as filed. The SEC does not verify the contents. Amended filings (N-PX/A) replace the filings they amend. Data on this page runs through 23 Sep 2026.
Provenance: SEC EDGAR, Form N-PX and N-PX/A filings by John Hancock Funds II (filer no. 1331971), read as filed and not verified by the SEC. Amended filings replace the filings they amend. Filings read through 23 Sep 2026; page built 26 Sep 2026.