Home / Principal / PRINCIPAL FUNDS, INC.
PRINCIPAL FUNDS, INC.
fund voting report, part of Principal
- Vote records reported
- 106,036year to 30 June 2026
- Against management
- 8.4%8,644 of 102,856 marked votes
- Say-on-pay support
- 90.5%for, of for + against + abstain
- Shareholder-proposal support
- 32.2%for, of for + against + abstain
foragainstabstain, withhold or otheramber tick: the portion cast against management
For the year to 30 June 2026, PRINCIPAL FUNDS, INC. reported 106,036 vote records on Form N-PX. 8,644 of the 102,856 votes that were marked for or against management went against management: 8.4%, 2.2 percentage points above the median fund registrant (6.2%).
Weighted by the number of shares voted, the against-management share is 6.6%. The two figures differ when the votes against management fall on larger or smaller holdings than the rest.
On pay and on shareholder proposals: it voted for 90.5% of the section 14A say-on-pay items it reported (the median fund registrant: 91.6%) and it voted for 32.2% of the proposals put forward by security holders (the median fund registrant: 27.5%).
By category, votes against management were most frequent in SHAREHOLDER RIGHTS AND DEFENSES (24.7% of 364), COMPENSATION (14.4% of 6,549) and CORPORATE GOVERNANCE (9.6% of 8,936).
It reported 30.9 million shares out on loan at record dates, 0.11% of the shares it held or had lent across the meetings it reported. Shares on loan are not voted.
Compared with other filers
Each rate is defined once, in the methodology. The median is taken over 1,241 fund registrants with at least 25 vote records in the season.
| year to 30 June 2026 | This filer | Median fund registrant | All filers pooled |
|---|---|---|---|
| Against-management share | 8.4% | 6.2% | 10.6% |
| Say-on-pay support rate | 90.5% | 91.6% | 86.0% |
| Shareholder-proposal support rate | 32.2% | 27.5% | 33.9% |
| Shares on loan, share of shares held | 0.11% | 0.00% | 3.12% |
| Largest families, year to 30 June 2026 | Against management | Say-on-pay support | Shareholder-proposal support |
|---|---|---|---|
| Vanguard | 20.1% | 94.1% | 42.0% |
| BlackRock and iShares | 7.5% | 88.3% | 11.9% |
| Fidelity | 6.0% | 94.7% | 27.6% |
| Dimensional | 16.4% | 78.9% | 57.4% |
| State Street and SPDR | 16.9% | 77.1% | 50.4% |
Votes by category
Filers choose one or more categories for each vote, so a vote can appear in more than one row. Category names are printed as Form N-PX defines them.
| Category (as the form names it) | Votes | For | Against | Against management | Split |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| DIRECTOR ELECTIONS | 65,001 | 59,016 | 2,509 | 8.9% | |
| SECTION 14A SAY-ON-PAY VOTES | 7,269 | 6,100 | 642 | 9.6% | |
| AUDIT-RELATED | 8,750 | 8,655 | 80 | 0.7% | |
| INVESTMENT COMPANY MATTERS | 10 | 10 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| SHAREHOLDER RIGHTS AND DEFENSES | 378 | 313 | 56 | 24.7% | |
| EXTRAORDINARY TRANSACTIONS | 815 | 741 | 74 | 8.2% | |
| CAPITAL STRUCTURE | 5,347 | 5,111 | 225 | 4.7% | |
| COMPENSATION | 6,632 | 5,620 | 968 | 14.4% | |
| CORPORATE GOVERNANCE | 9,199 | 8,015 | 1,061 | 9.6% | |
| ENVIRONMENT OR CLIMATE | 604 | 131 | 473 | 2.5% | |
| HUMAN RIGHTS OR HUMAN CAPITAL/WORKFORCE | 246 | 93 | 153 | 2.8% | |
| DIVERSITY, EQUITY, AND INCLUSION | 285 | 92 | 193 | 2.1% | |
| OTHER SOCIAL ISSUES | 803 | 325 | 478 | 6.7% | |
| OTHER | 307 | 172 | 133 | 2.6% |
By season
| Season | Vote records | Against management | Say-on-pay support | Shareholder-proposal support | Split |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| year to 30 June 2024 | 128,424 | 9.4% | 88.9% | 43.6% | |
| year to 30 June 2025 | 70,632 | 7.0% | 91.9% | 31.0% | |
| year to 30 June 2026 | 106,036 | 8.4% | 90.5% | 32.2% |
Say-on-pay votes against management
Counting one say-on-pay item per company meeting, PRINCIPAL FUNDS, INC. voted against management on 276 of the 2,592 it marked either way (10.6%) in the year to 30 June 2026. The 40 companies with the most reporting filers are listed.
A further 7 say-on-pay items were reported without a management mark and are left out of both sides of that fraction.
- Oracle Corporation 18 Nov 2025
- Thermo Fisher Scientific Inc. 20 May 2026
- Wells Fargo & Company 28 Apr 2026
- Adobe Inc. 15 Apr 2026
- Comcast Corporation 10 Jun 2026
- PALANTIR TECHNOLOGIES INC. 3 Jun 2026
- Palo Alto Networks, Inc. 9 Dec 2025
- WARNER BROS. DISCOVERY, INC. 23 Apr 2026
- WARNER BROS. DISCOVERY, INC. 9 Jun 2026
- FedEx Corporation 29 Sep 2025
- The Bank of New York Mellon Corporation 14 Apr 2026
- Dell Technologies Inc. 25 Jun 2026
- Welltower Inc. 21 May 2026
- Marvell Technology, Inc. 25 Jun 2026
- Snowflake Inc. 2 Jul 2025
- Snowflake Inc. 29 Jun 2026
- Simon Property Group, Inc. 13 May 2026
- The Hershey Company 5 May 2026
- AppLovin Corporation 3 Jun 2026
- Aon Plc 26 Jun 2026
- Microchip Technology Incorporated 19 Aug 2025
- Cloudflare, Inc. 30 Jun 2026
- Apollo Global Management, Inc. 8 Jun 2026
- Charter Communications, Inc. 21 Apr 2026
- Edison International 23 Apr 2026
- Workday, Inc. 16 Jun 2026
- The Trade Desk, Inc. 4 May 2026
- The Estee Lauder Companies Inc. 13 Nov 2025
- lululemon athletica inc. 25 Jun 2026
- Global Payments Inc. 30 Apr 2026
- Rivian Automotive, Inc. 22 Jun 2026
- Tyson Foods, Inc. 5 Feb 2026
- Skyworks Solutions, Inc. 13 May 2026
- Moderna, Inc. 6 May 2026
- Okta, Inc. 18 Jun 2026
- DraftKings Inc. 12 May 2026
- Corpay, Inc. 7 May 2026
- MP Materials Corp. 9 Jun 2026
- Bio-Techne Corporation 30 Oct 2025
- IonQ, Inc. 16 Jun 2026
Shareholder proposals it supported
Of 685 proposals from security holders that could be told apart in the filings and on which it cast a vote, PRINCIPAL FUNDS, INC. voted for 199 (29.1%). The 40 at the companies with the most reporting filers are listed. Titles are the most common wording among filers; where a wording could name a person, the SEC category is printed instead.
| Company | Meeting | Proposal |
|---|---|---|
| NVIDIA Corporation | 24 Jun 2026 | Approval of a non-binding stockholder proposal requesting the replacement of supermajority voting... |
| Alphabet Inc. | 5 Jun 2026 | Shareholder proposal regarding equal shareholder voting |
| Tesla, Inc. | 6 Nov 2025 | A shareholder proposal to seek shareholder approval before adopting an amendment to the bylaws pursuant to... |
| Tesla, Inc. | 6 Nov 2025 | Declassify the Board of Directors |
| Tesla, Inc. | 6 Nov 2025 | Shareholder proposal: CORPORATE GOVERNANCE |
| McDonald's Corporation | 20 May 2026 | Advisory Vote on Shareholders' Right to Act by Written Consent. |
| QUALCOMM Incorporated | 17 Mar 2026 | Stockholder proposal entitled "Shareholder Ability to Call for a Special Meeting." |
| International Business Machines Corporation | 28 Apr 2026 | Stockholder Proposal Requesting a Right to Act by Written Consent |
| CATERPILLAR INC. | 10 Jun 2026 | Shareholder Proposal - Shareholder Right to Act by Written Consent |
| AT&T INC. | 14 May 2026 | Shareholder Right to Act by Written Consent |
| Wells Fargo & Company | 28 Apr 2026 | Require Independent Board Chair |
| Wells Fargo & Company | 28 Apr 2026 | Shareholder Proposal - Govern by Majority Vote. |
| Texas Instruments Incorporated | 16 Apr 2026 | Stockholder proposal to permit stockholders to act by written consent. |
| HONEYWELL INTERNATIONAL INC. | 22 May 2026 | Shareowner Proposal - Shareholder Right to Act by Written Consent. |
| Comcast Corporation | 10 Jun 2026 | Adopt policy to have an independent chair |
| PALANTIR TECHNOLOGIES INC. | 3 Jun 2026 | Stockholder proposal entitled "Political Spending Disclosure," |
| Starbucks Corporation | 25 Mar 2026 | Shareholder proposal requesting supermajority shareholder voting requirements be replaced with majority... |
| LOCKHEED MARTIN CORPORATION | 12 May 2026 | Stockholder Proposal Requiring Independent Board Chairman |
| Micron Technology, Inc. | 15 Jan 2026 | Reduce Ownership Threshold for Shareholders to Call Special Meeting |
| Palo Alto Networks, Inc. | 9 Dec 2025 | To consider and vote upon a shareholder proposal, if properly presented at the Annual Meeting, regarding... |
| CVS Health Corporation | 14 May 2026 | Stockholder Proposal for Reducing the Threshold for Our Stockholder Right to Act By Written Consent. |
| Boston Scientific Corporation | 30 Apr 2026 | Stockholder proposal titled "Give Shareholders the Ability to Call for a Special Shareholder Meeting." |
| United Parcel Service, Inc. | 7 May 2026 | To take steps to reduce the voting power of UPS class A stock from 10 votes per share to one vote per share. |
| Target Corporation | 10 Jun 2026 | Require Independent Board Chair |
| The Cigna Group | 22 Apr 2026 | Shareholder Proposal - Shareholder Right to Act by Written Consent |
| Ecolab Inc. | 7 May 2026 | Vote on a stockholder proposal regarding an independent board chair policy |
| PayPal Holdings, Inc. | 19 May 2026 | Stockholder Proposal - Reduce Threshold to Call Special Meetings of Stockholders. |
| Kimberly-Clark Corporation | 14 May 2026 | Stockholder Proposal to Require Independent Board Chair |
| FedEx Corporation | 29 Sep 2025 | Stockholder proposal regarding independent board chairman. |
| L3Harris Technologies, Inc. | 11 May 2026 | Shareholder Proposal titled "Improve Shareholder Ability to Call for a Special Shareholder Meeting". |
| FORD MOTOR COMPANY | 14 May 2026 | A shareholder proposal relating to a request that the Board take steps to implement one vote per share for... |
| FORD MOTOR COMPANY | 14 May 2026 | A shareholder proposal relating to public disclosure by share class of voting results on matters subject... |
| Otis Worldwide Corporation | 27 May 2026 | Shareholder proposal regarding reporting on political contributions and expenditures |
| Dominion Energy, Inc. | 5 May 2026 | Shareholder Proposal Regarding a Policy for an Independent Chair |
| Marvell Technology, Inc. | 25 Jun 2026 | To consider and act on one stockholder proposal, entitled "Independent Board Chairman" |
| Snowflake Inc. | 29 Jun 2026 | To consider and vote on, if properly presented at the meeting, a non-binding stockholder proposal... |
| Yum! Brands, Inc. | 14 May 2026 | Shareholder Proposal to Reduce the Percentage of Shares Required to Call a Special Meeting. |
| General Mills, Inc. | 30 Sep 2025 | Shareholder Proposal - Adopt Policy to Separate the Board Chair and CEO Roles. |
| Prudential Financial, Inc. | 12 May 2026 | Shareholder proposal regarding an Independent Board Chairman. |
| AppLovin Corporation | 3 Jun 2026 | Stockholder proposal regarding disclosure of voting results by class of shares |
Shares on loan
PRINCIPAL FUNDS, INC. reported 30.9 million shares on loan at record dates against 28.81 billion shares voted: 0.11% of the two together. Median fund registrant: 0.00%. Shares lent out at the record date cannot be voted by the lender, which is why Form N-PX asks for the figure. More on lending and votes.
Fund series in this filing
31 series reported votes. A vote record can list several series. Series with 500 or more vote records have their own page.
| Series | Vote records | Against management | Say-on-pay support | Shareholder-proposal support |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| SmallCap Value Fund II | 13,509 | 12.7% | 88.4% | 59.5% |
| International Equity Index Fund | 11,703 | 7.7% | not reported | 24.0% |
| LargeCap Value Fund III | 11,006 | 7.1% | 92.1% | 31.9% |
| Global Multi-Strategy Fund | 9,759 | 7.2% | 88.3% | 35.1% |
| SmallCap Growth Fund I | 9,748 | 16.5% | 87.0% | 54.5% |
| MidCap Value Fund I | 9,042 | 7.0% | 92.8% | 49.2% |
| Overseas Fund | 8,913 | 7.6% | 87.5% | 20.4% |
| LargeCap S&P 500 Index Fund | 6,591 | 5.0% | 92.8% | 25.0% |
| SmallCap S&P 600 Index Fund | 5,626 | 7.0% | 92.5% | 71.4% |
| MidCap S&P 400 Index Fund | 4,116 | 5.7% | 95.5% | 36.0% |
| Diversified Real Asset Fund | 2,894 | 4.5% | 94.9% | 49.1% |
| Diversified International Fund | 1,753 | 4.5% | not reported | 46.2% |
| International Small Company Fund | 1,569 | 7.0% | not reported | 40.9% |
| Principal Capital Appreciation Fund | 1,308 | 7.1% | 93.3% | 14.3% |
| Global Emerging Markets Fund | 1,206 | 10.1% | not reported | 85.7% |
| SmallCap Fund | 998 | 6.9% | 98.0% | 28.6% |
| Global Real Estate Securities Fund | 892 | 3.5% | 94.3% | 0.0% |
| Equity Income Fund | 821 | 3.1% | 98.0% | 5.0% |
| Small-MidCap Dividend Income Fund | 784 | 1.7% | 98.5% | 0.0% |
| LargeCap Growth Fund I | 767 | 9.9% | 94.7% | 18.9% |
| International Equity Fund | 687 | 2.1% | not reported | not reported |
| MidCap Fund | 657 | 6.3% | 98.0% | 18.2% |
| Global Listed Infrastructure Fund | 583 | 6.7% | 100.0% | 23.5% |
| Blue Chip Fund | 453 | 3.5% | 100.0% | 3.6% |
| Real Estate Securities Fund | 433 | 1.4% | 94.9% | not reported |
| MidCap Growth Fund III | 87 | 16.1% | 90.0% | not reported |
| Edge MidCap Fund | 45 | 4.4% | not reported | not reported |
| Spectrum Preferred and Capital Securities Income Fund | 34 | 2.9% | not reported | not reported |
| Multi-Sector Income Fund | 25 | 0.0% | not reported | not reported |
| MidCap Growth Fund | 22 | 40.9% | not reported | not reported |
| Tax-Exempt Bond Fund | 5 | 0.0% | not reported | not reported |
The filings
These figures are read from the filer's own Form N-PX. If a vote on this page looks wrong, the filing is the record: a dispute about a filed vote is a matter for the filer, and an error in how this site read the filing is a matter for corrections.
- N-PX filed 27 Aug 2026 accession 0000898745-26-000858
- N-PX filed 27 Aug 2026 accession 0000898745-26-000859
- Every N-PX filing by this filer on EDGAR
Questions
How did PRINCIPAL FUNDS, INC. vote on executive pay?
In the year to 30 June 2026 PRINCIPAL FUNDS, INC. reported 6,742 votes in the category SECTION 14A SAY-ON-PAY VOTES that were cast for, against or abstain. 6,100 were for (90.5%), 642 against and 0 abstentions. Counting one item per company meeting, it voted against management on 276 of the 2,592 say-on-pay items it marked either way. A further 7 say-on-pay items were reported without a management mark and are not counted in that figure.
How often does PRINCIPAL FUNDS, INC. vote against management?
8.4% of the time in the year to 30 June 2026: 8,644 of the 102,856 votes it marked as for or against management. Form N-PX asks each filer to state, vote by vote, whether the vote was for or against management's recommendation; this figure counts those marks.
Did PRINCIPAL FUNDS, INC. support shareholder proposals on climate?
In the category ENVIRONMENT OR CLIMATE it reported 486 votes on proposals from security holders in the year to 30 June 2026 and voted for 14 of them (2.9%). Across every category it voted for 32.2% of security-holder proposals. Filers choose the category for each vote, so the same proposal can sit in different categories in different filings.
Is this the result of the meetings?
No. Form N-PX shows how this filer voted the shares it held. It does not show how other shareholders voted or whether a proposal was approved. Companies report certified results separately, on Form 8-K.
Where does the data come from?
From the Form N-PX filings of this filer on the SEC's EDGAR system, read as filed. The SEC does not verify the contents. Amended filings (N-PX/A) replace the filings they amend. Data on this page runs through 23 Sep 2026.
Provenance: SEC EDGAR, Form N-PX and N-PX/A filings by PRINCIPAL FUNDS, INC. (filer no. 898745), read as filed and not verified by the SEC. Amended filings replace the filings they amend. Filings read through 23 Sep 2026; page built 26 Sep 2026.